[Original Novella] Not Long Now, Part 2

in #writing7 years ago


source

I’ve been happy since then. Not frequently but I cannot deny that, here and there, I have found moments of sincere enjoyment. However terrible it often is, life is also heart wrenchingly beautiful. The ratio between those two is lopsided, but not so severely that I didn’t eventually persuade myself to live.

It turned out to be much less convenient than the alternative. I was handed off between various friends of Grandpa. Hot potato. Only so much charitable sentiment to go around, usually I was never with any one family longer than a year. It made me wonder to myself on occasion how close they really were to the old man.

Once I finally arrived at the caboose of that sequential train of temporary accommodations, there was no place left to put me besides the orphanage that Grandfather devoted his twilight years to building. To everybody’s confusion, particularly newspapers which were concerned at all with the philanthropic endeavors of industrialists.

He was and still is regarded as a brilliant man. But out of everything ever said about him by his admirers and critics alike, nobody ever accused him of being an altruist. Not that he was cruel either, just indifferent to everything except whatever project currently commanded his focus.

Why should such a man, whose soul if he had one consisted of angular metal shapes, all of a sudden become preoccupied with the plight of orphans? As mysterious as the man himself. Of course nobody complained, and in fact many public figures applauded his humanitarian detour.

I suppose I should include myself among the grateful masses. If not for his orphanage, I’d be on the street now. Easy enough to see, as the massive structure loomed into view over the horizon, why the city felt it permissible to close down their own such facilities. Grandpa’s orphanage could accept all of the city’s unwanted children several times over.

The motor carriage came to a juddery stop before the immense building’s great double doors. Nowhere else to go now but through them. It was the work of perhaps ten minutes to unpack everything, then the carriage bumbled back the way it came, belching little black clouds of putrid exhaust along the way.

The land around the structure looked to be cultivated into a variety of farms and orchards. Made some sense of where they might get the firewood which must surely be the source of the great, billowing plumes of smoke issuing forth from various tall, thin industrial chimneys poking up through the roof.

“Gracious! Would you like help with your bags?” I didn’t even hear the doors open. The woman approaching me looked no older than twenty, with a pointy nose somewhat reminiscent of a beak and neatly combed brown hair cut nearly as short as my own.

“I’ll be alright” I answered. “I should hardly want to trouble you with any extra work on my behalf when I’ve only just arrived”. She briefly introduced herself as Agnes Stuttgart. Then, rather than lift any of my overloaded bags, she hurried to hold one of the doors open that I might pass through while my hands were otherwise occupied.

“I can’t imagine what it’s all for” she wondered aloud as I heaved it all indoors in serial loads. “Miss Alice provides everything we need.” A curious thing to say, it seemed to me. But before I could ask about it I was hurried along to what I inferred, upon arrival, were my accommodations.

“No doubt meager compared to what you’re used to, but as you’ll see later, it’s a marked improvement over the typical bunk rooms. On account of your relation.” Her tone sounded uncomfortably deferential. Yet another stranger who seemed awed by my lingering, tenuous connection to someone long deceased.

As yet I’ve done nothing more remarkable than to be born into this family. And father, for all his dogged toil, nevertheless also depended greatly upon the social cachet Grandfather amassed during his storied career as an inventor and industrialist.

It is one thing to cast a shadow which your children cannot escape from during your life. It is quite another to cast a shadow which blankets multiple generations. Yet that shadow, and the contents of his countryside workshop, were all he left to us.

So however I might feel about leveraging the power of his name in certain circles, I could do nothing else if I planned to survive. Though his writings often expressed frank references to his own mortality, he nonetheless lived as though his own life was secondary to his goals...if it mattered at all. He’d accordingly set aside no money as inheritance, putting every last dime towards this orphanage.

“Right this way”. She guided me down a long, curved corridor flanked by vertical support beams. All of it iron by the looks of it. In places, the corridor was not fully assembled or blocked off from the rest of the structure. It afforded me occasional views, through those gaps, of the larger superstructure.

I was about to ask where all of this metal came from, but the answer became clear once we rounded the corner. The right side of the corridor now opened up into a round, deep shaft into the Earth. A cold, rusty handrail conspired to prevent onlookers from falling in.

Distant echoes of machinery at work wafted up the shaft, and when I peered as far over the edge as I felt inclined to, I saw an intermittent flash of sparks at the bottom. “Mind your station” Agnes scolded me, without bothering to explain what she meant.

I took it for an imploration to follow more closely, so I did. It was nevertheless difficult not to marvel along the way. Leave it to Grandpa to over complicate an orphanage. What I’d seen so far was closer to a vertical factory, albeit somewhat more fit for living in.

Another gap in the corridor revealed a great pair of lazily turning gears, each at least as large in diameter as I am tall. Just behind them, a row of pistons churned away. I’d assumed the metal was brought in elsewhere. Impressive, but unorthodox, to extract it on site.

Wherever a structural component had been stamped out of sheet metal, there were decorative inset designs. Similar to a bas relief. He must’ve designed it to do that just because he could I suppose. Because if you’re stamping metal shapes anyway, it doesn’t cost much more to include appealing patterns.

We soon arrived before a door in the wall resembling the oblong hatches of a sort often seen in the bulkheads of a ship. “You’ll find everything required for your comfort inside” Agnes advised. “Dinner is at eight, you’ll hear the bell. Don’t dawdle, Miss Alice says we’re to mind the schedule.”

There it is again. But she was gone before I could ask. I made note to bring it up at dinner. If there are certain people I should know better than the rest to fit in here, I’ll make it my business to.

The room didn’t really disappoint, but then I wasn’t expecting much. Very much like a cabin aboard a ship, except so far I’d seen no windows. Would’ve been nice to at least have one in my room, that I might wake to the sun’s rays.

I spent perhaps two or three hours unpacking and otherwise settling into the modest space. With the book splayed open across my desk, I turned my attention to the edges of envelopes sticking out from between later pages.

How did I miss these before? Pressed flat as a dried flower, they looked to be letters Grandpa intended to mail out before death robbed him of the chance. The first was addressed to a Franklin Lutwidge, head of the Ministry of Child Welfare.

“In response to the letter which I received from you on the fifth of May, I certainly am flattered by your kind words and grateful for the city’s generous land grants, which I understand you were instrumental in securing.

But I tell you in truth my dear man, I am only too happy to receive as many needy children as you can authorize transfer of. The poor little poppets will be washed, clothed, fed and put to work in support of the orphanage the moment they arrive.

With respect to the writings of one Thomas Robert Malthus which you saw fit to quote, I am of quite a different mind. Already, his predictions have been repeatedly frustrated by technological developments which have staved off the mass starvation his acolytes seemingly yearn to witness.

They will always be frustrated! Watch and see if it isn’t so. Man does not expand his numbers as blindly as yeast, the paramecium or wild rabbits. He is a creature of foresight and intellect, able to anticipate problems and act ahead of time to mitigate them.

So it is that, when I thought to direct my attention to charitable matters, I reasoned that it would not do simply to hand money out like so many stockings filled by Father Christmas. Spent within the week, then where does it leave you?

Money is like fuel, my dear fellow. You can burn it to stay warm, but it will soon be exhausted. Or you can construct an engine with which to extract yet more fuel in a self-reinforcing cycle. The engine is of course industry! Business! Learning to fish, in Biblical parlance.

I then thought to invent some new industry I might preferentially hire orphans into, making candies or trinkets of some sort, putting most of the profits towards their care. But then, what happens to it when I’ve expired?

What’s really needed to tackle the problem of feeding, clothing and housing the world’s poor is more ambitious than a jobs program. Why is it that they want for basic goods? They haven’t the money. Why do those goods cost money? Some fellow made them, and wants his labor to be compensated.

But what if the various industries necessary for the provision of man’s basic needs could be consolidated into a single building? What if advanced forms of the industrial automation technologies now entering common use were all leveraged therein, such that the whole mess ran itself?

Why, the beggars, orphans and invalids of the world could simply consume what it produces. It would mean a bottomless abundance of those items which a comfortable, dignified life cannot be had without! Of course, there is the problem of maintenance.

Long have I struggled to figure out that final problem. Some mechanism is needed to keep this magnificent, mechanical cornucopia chugging along smoothly. I soon realized this mechanism would need to be quite close to as sophisticated as a man in order to do the job in question! What vexation.

Sharp as my mind may be, that’s a task beyond the scope of my abilities. I might show you the fat stacks of drawings I drew of various rickety metal automatons on wheels and legs. The contraption which I meant to be the basic ‘handyman units’ which keep the larger machine in good repair, as well as maintaining one another.

Then it struck me. The orphans! What machine reliably performs every task that the human animal is capable of, except the genuine article? My little grease monkeys, brought in out of the cold, the relatively simple work of replacing worn out components fairly divided among them.

Is it wrong? I cannot see how. I meant to put them to work anyway. Only rather than pay them in shillings and pounds, they can now be rewarded for their labor with exactly what it is they need to live, and to go on working. Rare and lucky is the fellow whose own exertion so directly benefits him!

Picture it...like so many little bees in a hive, buzzing about, patching holes, ensuring its continuation out of simple self interest. What better motivator than that? Conventional wages pale in comparison.

The children will maintain the machine, and in return it will meet all of their needs, quite independently from society. A self contained microcosm of human civilization that’s sufficient unto itself!

Certainly you see the potential? This is not just another feeble humanitarian gesture, but a permanent solution to poverty! To hunger, to homelessness! One which will not die with me, but instead persist forever, by the hard work of those who depend upon it for survival.”


Stay tuned for Part 3!

Sort:  

Brilliant as usual! I have never been able to enjoy fiction before, but your writing style has me always waiting for the next portion of your stories.

You are probably the most under rewarded steemian I am aware of! I am adding you to the rules on my 10+ steemvoter accounts to help remedy this.

As usual 100% upvote and resteem!

Thanks! I do hope to attract more whales. I would some day like to live off my writing alone. Already it seems I have one new whale, as all my posts from the last week have doubled or tripled in payout.

If I can make it to a reliable average of $96/day it will pay as much as my old call center job. Right now, that's about what I make per week.

Having orphans work on a machinery? I think this is going to head to something very messed up.

This keeps getting better. Heading over to part 3!

A very tricky idea to employ the orphans but somehow I feel not everything is as it seems and what's with "Mind your station"? :P

The content is very nice and very amazing @alexbeyman. This is something extraordinary. you are so great. I am a newcomer in steemit and i still need to learn babyak about the writing procedure in steemit. The story is very interesting. I like your post @alexbeyman.
Please help me. Follow @nafazul

Feels like we will need a machine like this in the near future... A machine to end poverty. Hah, If only a machine like this was possible :)

I couldnt help but feel like it was a mixture of basic income and public works. A
Something like this would do wonders for the current homelessness explosion here in LA.

I like what you do! continue!

It sounds like a Ponzi. An orphanage of Keynesian Ponzi.

Great part overall, I liked how you worded "Money is a fuel" that whole part , it's true even in today's society . It can egnite something or stop it

Another excellent chapter, man! Also, using orphans as workers makes me think of the movie Snowpiercer, with how the owner of the train was abducting the poor passengers children to fix and run his engines. Definitely kinda fucked up, lol.

Can't wait for part 3, man! (Oh, I noticed the other day you gave me a follow. Just wanted to say thank you for that and I appreciate it quite a lot, bro!)

Ain't no thing but a chicken wing on a string from burger king

Good old burger king, the place you go to when you want to eat a burger that tastes like sand mixed with cheese. At least if you go to the one by my house.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57396.91
ETH 2446.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41