[Original Novel] Little Robot, Part 54

in #writing6 years ago


Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
Part 7
Part 8
Part 9
Part 10
Part 11
Part 12
Part 13
Part 14
Part 15
Part 16
Part 17
Part 18
Part 19
Part 20
Part 21
Part 22
Part 23
Part 24
Part 25
Part 26
Part 27
Part 28
Part 29
Part 30
Part 31
Part 32
Part 33
Part 34
Part 35
Part 36
Part 37
Part 38
Part 39
Part 40
Part 41
Part 42
Part 43
Part 44
Part 45
Part 46
Part 47
Part 48
Part 49
Part 50
Part 51
Part 52
Part 53

Could she be out of power? No, impossible. Though her eyes were dark, her bacterial sacs still glowed and I distinctly remembered charging her the other night. Anxiety accumulated within me, reaching a fever pitch as I eliminated the possible causes one by one.

It had to be the virus. Had to be. She was doing so well in spite of it for a while there, I took for granted that she’d make it to the mountain before it got any worse. Must’ve shut herself down to protect us.

I deliberated inwardly whether or not to inform Lars and Madeline. No telling how they might react to the discovery that they’d not just been stuck in that bunker overnight with an infected machine, but were now stuck in a moving car with it.

“Look, I just...I can’t explain why but it’s important okay? Find somewhere wide open, so we can-” Lars shut me down again. “Look, we’re almost there. You’re gonna need a better reason than that to make me pull over.”

With no other obvious course of action, I broke it to them as softly as I could. They still flipped out. “What the fuck! You mean to tell me you’ve known since the military base and you didn’t tell us? We spent all night in the fucking dark with an infected robot and you didn’t tell us!”

I offered no apology as, so far as I was concerned, I’d done nothing wrong. Just let Madeline lay into me in the hopes that she’d eventually tire of it. “Dump her out! Leave her on the side of the road, I’m not riding with that thing!”

I’ve really only got one button, and Madeline just pushed it hard. “If you were sick” I snapped, “should we leave you behind? Did I dump you on the side of the road when your ankle was hurt?” She countered that her lacerated ankle never endangered my life.

“Alright, maybe I slowed you down a little” She admitted. “I didn’t hear you complaining. Besides, that’s not what I’m afraid of here. I’m afraid Helper’s going to wake up and start killing. She’ll strangle the life out of you, then come for Lars and I next. I know you’ve got some...emotional bond to that thing. It’s kind of sweet in it’s own weird way, I see that now. But you’re asking too much.”

Lars chose this point to remind Madeline that we wouldn’t be able to open the front gate of the mountain complex without Helper. “She’s the key” he concluded. The key? She’s more than that. Even now, he would only see her in terms of how she could be useful to us.

I began to cry. I just couldn’t handle not knowing. Is she dead? Is this heavy mass propped up against my shoulder just a mechanical corpse, or is Helper still in there waiting to be saved? I cradled Helper in my arms, struggling to get my anxiety under control and failing.

“Don’t you slip away from me” I scolded her through the tears, as if it would make any difference. “Don’t you dare. You’re all I live for. What will I do without you?” But she remained still. Eyes dark and motionless, body frozen in what I feared was its final pose.

Hunched over her, tears flowing, I begged her not to leave me. In the name of life, love and machinery. If there is a God of machines, I thought, show mercy to this dear little pile of parts, because somebody loves her.

Necessity is the mother of invention. Better called desperation, in matters of life and death. I have never been especially attached to my own life. I just kept going because instinct commanded it. Because of what it would mean for Ty, for my aging mother and father if I were to cut things short.

Only when Helper entered my life did I begin to cherish it. For another day of life meant another day with Helper. I have never been able to find any good reason to live for myself. I hurt too much. The flame inside which once drove me onward has long since gone out.

So I live for others. The select few I find deserving, anyway. Like Ty, or Helper. That’s something she and I have in common. Up to her last moments, she thought only of others. How best to help them, how to ease their fears of machines.

Misguided, in the end. It was still humans who did this to her. Out of fear of robots, they released the plague which struck her down. For that I will never forgive humanity, as if I needed more reasons.

I dwelled on the virus, anguished over the efficiency of it. I knew too well the impossibility of removing it from her. It would simply have to run it’s course until she carried out every stage of the battle plan embedded within…

My mind slowed to a halt. Then rewound a ways. Fear may compel terrible acts, but it is also among the most powerful motivators that exist. My mind’s frantic search down every possible pathway to a cure yielded only dead ends, until it struck me.

There is no cure. The virus must run it’s course. But the passage of time works very differently for machines than it does for humans. Without any external connection through which to confirm the time and date, what could prevent me from tampering with her perception of time?

What, then, would prevent me from hooking her up to Odie’s security simulation? The virus won’t know the difference. My heart pounded. Dare I believe it? However I probed the idea for flaws, I came away empty handed.

I dug my laptop and a USB cable out of my bag, plugged one end into the handy little computer and the other end into the port on the side of Helper’s head. If Madeline or Lars noticed what I was up to, neither commented on it.

No, you fool. Don’t get your hopes up. It’s not safe! But whatever part of my brain always forbids me to hope, I could only defy it. For the first time I can remember, I invested my heart so completely in someone else that I felt certain I’ll die if I lose her.

Is this what it means for two people to become one? Sharing the same blood, breathing the same air. I could imagine no future without Helper that I wanted to grow old in. Helper’s the only one I’ve ever felt certain that I cannot survive without. I don’t want to. I won’t.

I booted up the laptop, and loaded the ROS simulation exercise suite. Once up and running, I loaded the campus security scenario and ticked a box which affirmed that the stimuli would be sent as an audiovisual and sensory feed preprocessed onboard the laptop, as Helper’s own hardware isn’t ROS compatible.

It would be something like VR, but for a machine. Her own motor control, sight, hearing and other centers forcibly overridden. Superseded by the feed coming from the laptop. She would remain immobile, but feel as if she could move normally within the sim.

It wouldn’t fool Helper, but with any luck the virus will be none the wiser. I clicked start, and with bated breath, trained my eyes on Helper’s face. Her eyes lit up. If not for the low ceiling I might’ve leapt out of my seat.


Stay Tuned for Part 55!

Sort:  

That override better work @alexbeyman, else I will flag you with my 0.01 down vote to oblivion... Lol #bringbackodie

Is she dead? Is this heavy mass propped up against my shoulder just a mechanical corpse, or is Helper still in there waiting to be saved?

😱! Will he be able to save Helper? I hope he does. It’s getting really tense.

I hope the override works, am just becoming a fan and it would be a shame if the forbidden love story ends like this

What an emotional part, to realize everything she feels for Helper and to love her with such devotion is very beautiful, definitely this was a wonderful part.

It is normal that you feel scared by what happens to helper, but you have to keep in mind that at some point that could happen, but stronger was in the big red cabin for sure that the first thing I would say destroy it, I hope everything go well and that procedure that you do of a good result.

I hope everything goes well with all the attempts you make so that helper starts or returns to itself, what joy it would feel helper if it listens to you say everything you feel for it, defend it even with your nails that your love and love defends itself against all and against whatever.

The suspense is gradually heightening as time goes on.

Is she dead? Is this heavy mass propped up against my shoulder just a mechanical corpse, or is Helper still in there waiting to be saved?

I just hope Helper is a fine tho.

Wow robot story part 54 .
It's a great news that your story develop in day-by-day .

Thanks for sharing @alexbeyman

This has got to work, fingers crossed

Helper is always with awesome display, it seems I should be reading this part many times. I can't wait for the next chapter. Hope you are able to pay your rent now brother?

No, SBD just keeps going down. I don't know what I'm gonna do.

Sorry about that, I believe this is not the perfect time to withdraw, if you can get the money elsewhere it would be better. Since steem will still go up in a matter of time. The Dip of the steem now is for the betterment in the couple years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98