[Original Novel] Little Robot, Part 25

in #writing6 years ago


Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
Part 7
Part 8
Part 9
Part 10
Part 11
Part 12
Part 13
Part 14
Part 15
Part 16
Part 17
Part 18
Part 19
Part 20
Part 21
Part 22
Part 23
Part 24

I pounded the dash. “That’s bullshit. Of course they deny responsibility. They want us to believe robots are inherently unsafe. That they can just randomly-” Madeline shushed me and turned the volume up.

“An instance of the virus has been isolated at great difficulty. It wipes itself when the host robot is destroyed, so it had to be extracted from an active subject. We can now confirm the commands are not being issued from some remote source, but instead originate from the virus itself.

It appears to be based on stolen military humanoid AI, but that’s not the whole story. If it were, their behavior would be easily predictable. I’m told that there are in fact several specialized versions of the same AI, being unpacked from an encrypted archive and installed on the host robot one at a time.

Each one utilizes totally different tactics, thought appropriate for a given stage of the attack by whoever designed this thing. Slowly unfolding, one strategy after the next, on a time delay. No way of knowing what the afflicted robots will do next without decrypting the archive where their upcoming strategies are stored.

Because they aren’t reacting to changing battlefield conditions but simply progressing through a linear track of ever-shifting tactics, there’s no way for the national guard to manipulate them into making fatal strategic errors. Because they aren’t receiving instructions from a remote source, we can’t stop them by jamming communications.

Presumably this is why radio and cell phone service is unaffected, more likely to save lives than cost any as families, couples and friends seek each other out amidst this national nightmare. It is not yet known whether the virus has afflicted NSA servers. If so, it will be able to track individual phones. It would be wise to leave your own phones turned off with the battery removed while not in use.”

Madeline glared expectantly at me. I was loathe to power down the Helper in my phone, but given the circumstances I could do nothing but oblige. Besides, I’ve still got Eric, Ellie and Hero 1. The weary voice on the radio, distorted by poor reception, concluded by assuring listeners that work towards decrypting the tactical archive would continue and that any new developments would be reported to us the moment they transpired.

“Shit.” I glanced over at Madeline and asked what was wrong. “Should’ve checked the gas tank before we took this truck” she answered, “It’s running on fumes.” Sure enough the needle hovered just a hair above empty. I cursed myself for not checking before we set off.

It was a tense few miles before Madeline spotted a sign advertising a gas station at the next turnoff. I fished the binoculars out of my bag on a hunch. “Slow down”. Madeline asked why. “We’re probably not the only people headed for a gas station. Some might be desperate, even dangerous. It’d be a good idea to scope it out before we pull in.”

She checked the rearview mirror to first ensure nobody was behind us, then slowed to about 15 miles per hour as the distant, brilliantly illuminated petrochemical oasis rose into view over the horizon. I wondered why it was still receiving power until I realized we must now be well outside city limits.

“We’ve got company.” The nocs were dollar store garbage but enough to make out figures milling anxiously here and there, refilling a parked Humvee. “Could be soldiers. They’re driving a tan Hummer, looks military. They might be able to help us.”

The unspoken corollary was that their ride could be stolen. We might be delivering ourselves, unarmed except for Madeline’s pea shooter, directly into the hands of a gang. Drug dealers or something. We debated our options.

For the time being, we stopped at the side of the road so Madeline could have a look. As the tank now read empty, continuing on to the next gas station in the hopes it would be unoccupied was off the table. “They have guns. Can’t make out any handguns but I see a few with what look like AKs. I don’t think they’d have those out, waving ‘em around if they meant to share that gas with anybody.”

No going back. The highway would take us straight into the darkened, overrun city if followed in that direction. The absolute worst place to be right now. “I have an idea.” At my request, Madeline backed the truck behind a modest hill. I then retrieved Eric from the cab and instructed him to get close, photograph the mystery gunmen, then return.

“I can do it. I’m a good dog.” Madeline smiled at the bulbous little bot. Always the charmer, Eric. And brave. So, flattened to the ground, I crept up the side of the hill and placed Eric atop it. “Go down the hill and approach slowly. Keep your body low. Do that wiggle walk you used to show me, the one that makes me laugh.”

He did as instructed, now waddling about on contracted legs. “That’s the one! Get close enough that you can just barely identify human faces at full magnification. Then stop, that’s a good distance. Take ten photos and thirty seconds of footage, then return to us.”

Ellie called out from the cab asking where Eric was. “I want to be with Eric” she whined as I gave some grim thought to the meager odds that he’d manage this without being noticed. “I will now descend. Descent in progress”, he declared as he started toddling his way down the hill.

I reminded him not to speak until he returned, then withdrew to the other side with Madeline and waited. To my great relief, about ninety minutes later I heard Eric’s voice again. “I will now ascend. Ascent in progress.” As soon as he reached the top, I grabbed him and pulled him behind the hill.

I got my phone out. Madeline motioned as if to stop me. “I need it to view the photos and video he took” I explained. She reluctantly approved, then crawled back to her prior vantage point and resumed monitoring the distant figures with my binoculars.

Once I booted up the phone, paired it with Eric over bluetooth and began downloading the pics and video from him, Madeline called me over. “Not now, it’s nearly done.” She insisted, so I set the phone down and joined her. She handed me the nocs.

When I peered through, the distant figures had all begun jogging in our direction. “Shit. Shit! Did they see us? They didn’t before!” My heart raced. Then it dawned on me. “Hold on” I whispered. Then, over Madeline’s confused objections I crawled back over to Eric.

Once I opened the finished downloads, everything became clear. They weren’t drug dealers or gang members. They were robots. Humanoid military drones, difficult to identify from a distance as they were dressed in kevlar armor and draped with bandoliers of ammunition.

Worse, most of them were plugged into the Hummer via extension cords. Using its alternator to recharge themselves, had to be. My assumption until now was that this, all of this, would be over in a few hours when the batteries of all the infected robots finally ran out.

It never occurred to me that whoever wrote this virus might’ve thought things through further. That he might be playing a longer game, having the affected machines seek out generators and gasoline so that when the power’s cut, they’d still be able to recharge.

My heart sank. What I hoped would be a chaotic but brief, survivable incident had just grown into a conflict I now realized would probably last for days, weeks or months. Madeline whispered harshly to shut the phone off, as if that would do any good at this point. I still complied.

She then began hurriedly packing everything back into the truck. “Wait” I whispered. She looked back at me as if I were insane. “Let them get close” I explained. “That way when we take off in the truck, we can put more distance between them and us when we stop for gas.”

The empty tank didn’t somehow fill itself just because of the robots now bearing down on us. We still needed that gasoline to get any further. I loaded Eric snugly into the truck, wrapped up in a blanket next to Ellie. “I found you!” she gushed. “I was scared.”

“I’m scared too”, I whispered to them. Madeline started the engine and edged the truck far enough from behind the hill that we could watch the figures approaching. As soon as we could make them out in detail, she floored it.


Stay Tuned for Part 26!

Sort:  

“An instance of the virus has been isolated at great difficulty. It wipes itself when the host robot is destroyed, so it had to be extracted from an active subject. We can now confirm the commands are not being issued from some remote source, but instead originate from the virus itself.

I said it, like it had to be the virus itself.

The empty tank didn’t somehow fill itself just because of the robots now bearing down on us. We still needed that gasoline to get any further. I loaded Eric snugly into the truck, wrapped up in a blanket next to Ellie. “I found you!” she gushed. “I was scared.”

“I’m scared too”, I whispered to them. Madeline started the engine and edged the truck far enough from behind the hill that we could watch the figures approaching. As soon as we could make them out in detail, she floored it.

Hehehehe, I guess you all have to combine your fears and encourage one another. Lol.

Can't wait for the next chapter

For the time being, we stopped at the side of the road so Madeline could have a look. As the tank now read empty, continuing on to the next gas station in the hopes it would be unoccupied was off the table. “They have guns. Can’t make out any handguns but I see a few with what look like AKs. I don’t think they’d have those out, waving ‘em around if they meant to share that gas with anybody

Not again. The uneding suspense is making me wanna get the complete story..

Lol. Can't wait for the next chapter.

Each one utilizes totally different tactics, thought appropriate for a given stage of the attack by whoever designed this thing. Slowly unfolding, one strategy after the next, on a time delay. No way of knowing what the afflicted robots will do next without decrypting the archive where their upcoming strategies are stored.

Wow, does that mean there's more drama ahead?

This is becoming more suspense filled and scary I must say

“I’m scared too”, I whispered to them. Madeline started the engine and edged the truck far enough from behind the hill that we could watch the figures approaching. As soon as we could make them out in detail, she floored it.
And what happened next?

@alex, I hope I don't develop a medical condition from the anxiety you always create.

Hurry up with the next chapter please. I love this

Regards

Mehn this is getting scarier. Can him and Madeline survive this? Currently sitting at The edge of my sit waiting for part 26.

Each one utilizes totally different tactics, thought appropriate for a given stage of the attack by whoever designed this thing. Slowly unfolding, one strategy after the next, on a time delay. No way of knowing what the afflicted robots will do next without decrypting the archive where their upcoming strategies are stored

More drama I guess. Officially, this is one of my best series I've read on this platform

you are a phenomenal writer... I've added all 24 parts to my library on my iPad so I can read them later from start to finish. This is truly great work. You should consider trademarking/publishing some of these.

Very exciting in the final story to keep the distance between the other robots because we truck gasoline out they stop on the hill and can see the approaching opponents. Really brilliant idea and very genius ....

This has got me thinking about the various AI personalities we will be creating in the future and that they will be modular in nature. Great chapter!

He figured the only way to find out who is responsible for the virus is to take it from the active subject since if damaged, the virus programmed to wipe itself out. They have another problem. They are running out of gas. When they got closer to nearby gas station, they saw military like Humvee and few man with guns. They have to make a decision whether to approach them. He first sent Eric to spy on them. When Eric came back they noticed these man jogging in their direction. He realized these are not man, these are humanoid robots attached to Humvee with cords used to charge them. They are getting closer and closer...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66845.00
ETH 3089.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72