Fiction Friday- 4 Fictional Settings & 4 Epic Introductions

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Unwinding used to take a couple glasses of booze. That takes a toll eventually, so now I use fiction. I happened to sit next to a man reading book five of the Cleric Quintet by RA Salvatore. I've met Salvatore and more than 20 years ago produced a short show with him. He's charming, clever, and a wonderful author. I've been inspired. May the unease of my long day at work provide you a momentary joy.

Hathic the Half Crazed

Lionadot stared down at the sharp blade protruding from her chest covered with crimson liquid dripping down it's curved blade. She tried to scream in pain, but her lungs were full of blood. The sound instead was a dark gurgle and the last sound she'd ever make. Her eyes glazed over, her soul escaped, and she fell lifeless on the floor. She never gave away the location of her son, and for that she died with the slightest hint of smile upon her face. She could only hope that he could outrun his father, Hathic the Half Crazed, but that was no longer her concern....

Nagan VII

Admiral Santana looked down at the blinking red screen in front of her. Every dashboard lit up with colored lights. Her training had prepared her for the lights, but not the doom. The sinking doom of the Kartouri raiders above her home. Four billion hearts pulsed below her, and four billion hearts needed her to live. She slid from her chair as gas hissed out at her from a broken circulation tube. She cleared her best friend's corpse from the weapons display. She can cry about that tomorrow if she lives, but not today. Shaft 7-9 were empty. Shaft 3-6 were broken. Shaft 1-3 were working, but only 2 had a balistic ready to fire. She pursed her lips with a vengeful smile. Quantom sliders were illegal for a reason... but this was home. She clicked the keys and entered her private key and watched as the lone torpedo flew from her ship; a last gasping trail of ice and hope behind it.

The Hack

Swaying back and forth on a hammock in the Bahamas, a hot breeze over his face, a mimosa in his hand, and a shit eating grin on his face Jonny Hampton relaxed. $18 Million. Eight-teen-fucking-million. "I could buy this shit island for that. I could buy every person on here. I could live out my days fucking islanders, sailing in this ocean, and basking in the sun rays." He thought. But this wasn't the end of the story. This is just the start. Because on that morning Special Agent Brian Dreeson was on his way. He wasn't there to arrest or kill him. The man he needed to catch was a man that was hard to find, and the man that could find him was surely the one that could hack his $18M mouse trap. So you see, the only person happier than Jonny Hampton on that bright sunny day in the Bahamas was Special Agent Dreeson making his way to a hammock.

Trick'm or lose'm

Tictac was a stable kind of man, but even this was hard to hide. Ace Queen is one of the best hands you can get drawed right off the bat. It's a little risky because you never know what pairs might be out there, but Ace Queen is a solid hand to play. For a table game at home you'd probably be squirming in your seat as you thought about going all in with it. What's that? $40? And you're sitting there letting your veins pop, your breathing change, your tone change, and your stare alter... You can't do that. You have to stay calm. You have to keep your steely gaze. You have to look like you're bluffing, but know you're winning because you have AQ. I mean you're probably bluffing right? But they have to buy it... But even then it's only $40. That's lunch. That's a movie date... but this... This is a life changing. Those red chips are piled high. High enough to bury a man if you know what I mean, and I'm staring down Kingston Towne. I'm staring down a legend, and all my chips are in. You see me sweat? You see me exhale any different? Not on your fucking life. He's got to make a call. He's gonna lay it all down. He's got to... Oh shit... he's betting and all I got is rags. How the fuck can he tell? And how the fuck am I gonna pay back $4 million?

Sort:  

Maybe it is just me, but I don't like being teased......one paragraph stories are just long enough to get me interested and then tick me off I can't read more!

intense!

I m just curious, did you really upvote your own comment ?

it's only 64 cents. It's a big deal when it's $100.

It took me 3 days to realize I could uncheck the box to vote up your own post

haha, Well said. I just wanted to know if its ok and wouldn't hurt my steemit account in anyway.

Thanks for this! I never drank alcohol, but am an avid fantasy reader for the same reason. Most of my work involves repetitive small movements, and hour of focus...so even though I prefer actually holding a book and reading, I now listen via audible while I work. I just looked and Cleric Quintet IS available, so now on my list of what to get next :)

My daughter and I did the math one time, and we would have to read approx 80 books a day to read all the books we want to before we die...we are so far behind!

One series I just finished that was very captivating, is The Discovery of Witches, by Deborah Harkness

I love to read,especially sci-fi, but I discovered this site called steemit.com ...
and It has been my ruin,I have not been able to pick up a book in close to 2 months!!!!!
I spend every spare minute trying to learn how to improve my computer skill's and figure out how I am going put my scrambled thought into a comprehensible post that conveys the gestalt that is my ADD, PTSD, disorganized view,or idea.
here is picture of what I have become.

thank you! & MSP!
NAMASTE!
:-)

Goose bumps...

I enjoy the feeling of being a character. You can taste the air that is full of smoke and death...

I loved reading this !! You wrote these yourself ? Definitely deserves an upvote

Yep. Just for fun on the train.

Nice one. Good use of time on train. Keep writing ;)

I want more ... much more! I can't believe how you sucked me in each story with only a few paragraphs. Powerful stuff @aggroed . If you are taking requests ... could I be so bold as to ask you to keep writing Nagan VII?

Good story

I think it's really cool to see you post something that isn't related to The Minnow project because most of us that have only been around for a month or two don't know much about you aside from that. I liked these stories a lot. I am a fiction writer myself and I'm currently writing a short story horror book that I am planning to publish on amazon soon if all goes according to plan. I hope you are doing well.

Great time reading it.
May be you should continue writing more on this.
Had nice nice time reading this post. You build a tension creating to read the next while reading present... I think you know what I mean..
@aggroed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27