A Funeral for Buster or a Cat Resurrected an Unfortunate Experience with my Wife's Cat

in #writers6 years ago (edited)

Greetings, again dear readers!

Earlier, you met my wife's kitten, Buster, in this previous post. Buster....the Ride From Hell.

So, forge ahead, or turn back and catch up with us, the adventure continues!


A year or so passed and the freshness of being newlyweds wore off. Buster, the kitten, became a member of our little family.

He never liked me, after that wild ride home, always growling if I tried to pet him. He liked to sit in Lesa's lap while she watched TV. I think the only reason he let me sit next to her was the fact that I am the fella that cleaned his litter box!

As far as I could tell, he never caught a mouse either. He just ate and pooped. Completely worthless and not a bit guilty about not contributing a thing to the development of the family.

I suspected he moonlighted as a bouncer at the nightclub the rats had established in the attic. He was suspiciously missing when they opened for business each night.

At suppertime he could beat you to his dish every time. He'd come running with his tail up in the air, the tip of it pointed forward as if to say, "Watch out boys I'm going THAT way!"

That cat would be all up under your feet and meowing as fast as he could get a meow out, only kibbles in his mouth would shut him up.

We didn't like each other, but we both loved the girl, and she loved us too, so we called a cease fire and worked out a peace treaty.

Well, it so happened that the little lady and I found ourselves in a position to build a new home. I had a little piece of land I had acquired, before our marriage, and had a spot chosen that she agreed would be suitable to erect a nest on, so we took that fork in the road and moved ahead. I sooooo wanted to get away from the night club scene and become domestic.

To make all this happen, we had to move into the vacant upstairs of my parents spacious home. I insisted on paying my Mom some rent while we waited on the contractor to finish our new house. She didn't mind the extra income and my parents didn't mind the kitten coming along, they liked him.

Early in our marriage we had taken some savings and bought a small business for my wife. She rose each morning and opened shop at 6 AM, worked eight hours and turned it over to a trusted worker at 2PM. It was my job to close at 10PM each night.

On the night of this unhappy incident, it was pouring, I don't mean just your ordinary, water the daisies, sort of down pour either! Folks, I'm here to tell you, it was falling Noah's flood!

I grabbed a big umbrella from the stand by the door and ran out into the weather. I don't have a clue why I took an umbrella, it didn't diminish the dampness a bit, on account of it raining sideways!

At the store, I helped Mrs. Clark, our faithful employee, paddle out to her car and start off down the river, uh..road.

I clambered into my vehicle, thoroughly water logged, I turned the heat wide open, (Did I mention it was cold too? It was cold too!), then started for home. I got to my Mom's driveway and, right there, in the street was a run over cat.

My first thought was "poor kitty, I hope it didn't suffer." As I turned in I looked out the window and I thought I recognized the gray fur of a familiar nemesis. I stopped the truck and backed up, so the lights would shine on the carcass.

"Hmmmmm, looks like Buster, doesn't it?" I asked myself.

It was tempting to just drive on and deal with it in the morning but, if you knew how much that puss meant to my wife you'd have done what I did too. I didn't want her to discover his little body, road pizza'd, the next morning, so I climbed out in the driving rain and picked the cat up by the tail and slung it into the bed of my truck cradled his little broken body in my arms and placed him on the floorboard.

Back at the house I fetched a shovel and dug a hole in the muck to bury the unfortunate kitty. I thought how devastated my wife would be when she heard the bad news. I think I shed a tear when I pitched gently put his little corpse into the mirky water.

We'll never know for sure, on account of the rain was hitting me in the face so hard, you couldn't have distinguished a tear from the Pacific Ocean!

I struggled into the house and put my shoulder against the door to shut it against the elements.

My Mom sat at the bar in her kitchen, reading. She looked up at me, soaked and muddy, with litter plastered on my face, and said, "Good heavens, what happened to you?"

I told her of Buster's demise and asked her not to tell my wife, because I wanted to break the news to her gently, besides she would lay awake all night and cry and I was tired and miserable enough.

The next morning, Lesa opened the back door and in sashays, Buster! He was quite put out, because he had to sleep in the barn.

She fed him and before she left she talked with my Mom.

"Helen, I let Buster in, would you tell Chip to let him out before he leaves?"

My mother stared at her and ask, "The cat's in the house?"

"Yeah?"

"Your husband buried that animal last night, he found him dead on the road and told me not to tell you because you would be upset!"

"He looks alive to me," she said, looking down at the cat rubbing against her legs.

Those two saw an opportunity for some fun at my expense.

Up the stairs they went.

"Chip, could you look at Buster's leg, it looked like he hurt himself yesterday and it doesn't look at all well this morning?"

I sat straight up in the bed!

All I could think of is the shovelfuls of mud I heaped on him somehow thumped his little heart back to pumping and he somehow clawed his way out of a cold grave!

"He's in the house,?" I asked, somewhat astonished.

About that time, the deceased leaped from the floor and onto the bed!

I almost crawled up the headboard!

I don't care whose @#%$ cat I buried, but if I ever find out, I'm going to send them a bill for the funeral!

I hope you enjoyed this little tale, and thanks for reading!

CARRY ON!




All photos courtesy of Pexels: Source Link

Sort:  

You have received a @GrumpyCat flag because you or someone else sent money to buy votes from an irresponsible non-GrumpyCompliant service.

@sneaky-ninja @pushup and @aksdwi are acting irresponsibly by selling votes to people on their post very close to final payout. (99% abuse rate)

Sending money to these bots is also financially supporting for-profit spammers.

To know what voting bot to use, refer to https://steembottracker.com/ and use those that have 3.5 day or less in the "Max Age" column.

Learn more ...

WE ARE THE RESISTANCE!

@GrumpyCat

Your self upvote is flagged by The-Resistance team using the WE-RESIST bot.
We will be resisting with a team, stronger each day, unless you stop downvoting innocent people.

To your tyranny WE-RESIST

The Resistance
Discord: https://discord.gg/qMWCbWR

Very nice write-up, I was held till the end. Buster lives!!! Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for that very kind comment, it means so much when people take the time to drop a note! Carry On!

Those nine lives...one down, & eight more left! 😂

Awesome story. I love the parts where you cross out the "real thoughts" & list the politically correct thoughts afterward! Keep it up! I love the Buster war.

That dang cat was a royal pain! I miss him though....he just disappeared one day and never came home. I appreciate the kind upvote!

Oh no! Did your wife pick out a new cat? You have to get another one! How can you live without having a cute, little furry nemesis? Just think of all the adventures you'll miss ...

Yeah, I got her another kitten. He showed up at the airport one day....I named him Aileron ......on account of he was an aeronautical type of feline. I should write a few stories about him too....we got along much better than Buster and I.

You got a 29.19% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @beekerst!

Release the Kraken! You got a 25.91% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @beekerst!

You got a 60.33% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @beekerst!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 38.72% vote... I was summoned by @beekerst! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

For protection of members as follows :

WE ARE THE RESISTANCE!

You are bullied by @grumpycat on your post, but protected by all members of The Resistance.
Thank you for being in The Resistance.

@GrumpyCat, to your tyranny WE-RESIST

The Resistance
Discord: https://discord.gg/qMWCbWR

I'm not going to get into a pissing match about this, it is certainly an injustice, but after doing a little research there is an abuse of this self promotion method. You must admit, if you can't fight the bots on their own turf then targeting their customers is very effective. I only wish the dumb ass that coded the screener would take into consideration the timing of the offending bidder. I usually bid right after I post so that I can spend at least a few minutes near the top of the trending list so the value of what I bring here can at least be seen by a few before it gets buried.. I'm still new and figuring everything out, but if I get abused by anymore whales I'll just pick up my toys and play in a different sand box. Whoever is behind this doesn't even take the time to judge if the content is deserving or not..... I'm going to turn the page on this and move on.

I recommend first reading this super awesome comment about whales

It might help with perspective. Lots of people come in and don't quite understand the economy of steem. Like any economy it is effected by inflation.

While I would agree that getting in the middle of some pissing match is a bad idea, this is actually by design. It's intended by the creators that a community would be responsible for governing the site. When stuff goes wrong, the creators are mostly hands off and it is left to us to do something about it as content creators and content curators.

When spammers/scammers/abusers show up, it really is up to us to do something about it. Not all of them go quietly.

@beekerst;

This is not a pissing match.
We are only a handful of minnows standing up against a bully whale trying to impose his/her ideals on another whale (bot owners) using minnows as "collateral damage"

We totally reject this since the collateral damage is us!

It is for sure we can't yet piss as far as a whale can but we are at least trying.
This is all about raising voice against injustice.

For more information, this is our declaration.
https://steemit.com/the-resistance/@the-resistance/we-declare-resistance

@the-resistance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01