Sort:  

They made a big deal of England not performing well during penalty kicks at major events, so congratulations there. I guess we'll need to hear from @gillianpearce as to how long the celebrations went on into the evening afterward, because it was pretty exciting. Of course, I got to watch it at around 1:30-2 pm in the afternoon, and it's usually quiet in our cul de sac anyway. Maybe not so much tonight. They generally light up fireworks after dark for Independence Day. :)

The celebrations didn't go on too long @glenalbrethsen. For an hour or so there was much honking of horns and people playing "It's coming home" full blast whilst driving around with their windows wound down which caused the people coming out the pubs to join in.

Aw. Listening to that song again even makes me feel a bit nostalgic. "thirty years of hurt" they say but it's gone on way, way longer than that and nowadays that's reflected in the general lack of interest here, at least compared to the "old days".

There used to be a time, before the last world cup, when people would put flags out and have flags flying from their car windows but I didn't see any at all until last week. I think, as a nation, we've given up. And even getting this far the now 40 or 50 years have hurt have taken their toll.

Which meant I got a decent night's sleep! 😂

Perhaps that's why it's best not to really care. That way, if they actually win, then everyone can be happy and start the glory days from 2018. If they lose, well, the drought continues.

I guess I really can't speak for everyone else, but I don't think Americans are ever going to get that caught up in soccer because of all the other sports we play and like to watch. It's similar to hockey. Some people watch it, but it's not got the ratings like American football or basketball. I'm not sure how well baseball is doing, but they still refer to it as America's pastime.

I'm glad you were able to get some sleep. I followed the link to listen to the song. I can see why it would make you nostalgic.

That win in the shootout has been a long time coming! And maybe it's what was needed to take the teams confidence to the next level - we shall see!

Me too @abh12345 she lied. Like she knew what she was talking about. 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66856.70
ETH 3114.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75