Mapmaking and Rambling!

It's been a busy weekend around my household, and I've had little time to even think about a Steem post. Today, in between chasing a 1-and-a-half year old boy, and general normal housework, I did manage to fit a small bit of mapmaking however!

image.png

The new version is really coming along I think, and I'm proud of my progress. I have a lot to learn yet as far as cartography goes, but this is a vast improvement over the old style (which you can see I'm using as a reference above the new map).

There are definitely some things that I think I would do differently now, but I've been working on completing the things I start despite flaws and imperfections. So, I'll finish this entirely before I consider another re-do of the map, haha. But, for my first real update to my style in over a decade - I think this is a great start. In the interest of full disclosure, much of this style is inspired by WASD20's tutorials on YouTube, though it is a bit of a hodge-podge of my own attempts and things he shows.

I think if I were to restart this, I would probably avoid the colour highlights and go pure black-and-white. I'd probably also chose a different style of mountains and trees. But, like I said, I'm going to see this through to completion before I judge it too harshly!

Today's final progress was:

image.png

Which completes all the mountains on the map. I hope that once this is fully complete it's not too busy, but we will see how it turns out!

I've got some new pens coming in the mail that should arrive by Wednesday, with a lot finer tips, so I should have more control in the width of lines, and I think that will definitely be helpful.

Well, I think that's all for today. Just a quick update on what I've been working on. Thanks for reading! Hope you've all had a great weekend.

Sort:  

Congratulations @oblivioncubed! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 comments. Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you very much!

It looks pretty cool so far. Keep up the great work.
I had to make a map for a competition on Steem once using only a mouse. It wasn’t the best image but it won the competition.

Haha, wow that would be difficult! I'm not good with just mouse! Thanks for the comment :D

No worries. Yeah it takes a bit of practice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29