Fitness Blog | Getting Back into Shape - Workout Routine!

in #workout6 years ago (edited)

Good day Steemit community!

As I have said in my #introduceyourself post, I stopped my fitness life style after I graduated which prompted my inevitable and slightly uncontrollable weight gain. I indulged myself with all the food I wanted and all the rest and relaxation I could ever dream of. Now, the fruits of my labor are evident, I am getting fat (if not already fat) and losing my muscularity. The only reasonable thing to do now is to get back into shape! And what better time to do it than the start of the year!

[Bodybuilding.com]

I made a workout routine based on extensive research for my weight training, which you guys can totally do if you plan on starting with weight training. I also included #HIIT's and steady state #cardio for overall maximum functionality because I don't want to be just a huge chunk of muscle, I want to be athletic. 

So for now I'm reverting back to a beginner's full body #workout routine It would look something like this:

Workout A
  • Full squats | 4 sets of 12 reps
  • Dumbbell shoulder press | 4 sets of 12 reps
  • Push-ups | 3 sets of 10 reps
  • Bench press | 4 sets of 12 reps
  • Standing dumbbell triceps extension | 3 sets of 12 reps
  • Standing calf raises | 3 sets of 15 reps
  • Seated calf raises | 3 sets of 15 reps

  • Workout B
    • Pull-ups | 4 sets of 6 reps
    • Deadlift | 4 sets of 12 reps
    • Barbell rows | 4 sets of 12 reps
    • Dumbbell bicep curls | 3 sets of 12 reps
    • Bent over dumbbell reverse flyes | 3 sets of 12 reps
    • Dumbbell side lateral raise | 3 sets of 12 reps
    • Core exercises | 3 exercises such as crunches, hanging leg raises, ab-wheel, planks, etc.

    • *I linked the compound exercises to Youtube videos showing and teaching the proper form to do these exercises*

      I'll be doing this for around 3 to 4 weeks just to get my strength back, but for beginners you should do this for around 2-3 months depends on how well you progress. The schedule should look something like this.
      The main focus here is doing and finishing the compound movements properly and being able to workout your entire body every time you hit the gym.

      So for those of you looking to try and start weight training, this routine should be great for you because full body workouts are great for beginners.

      Master the form and technique first before attempting to go heavy especially on the compound movements.
      [ss.fitness]
      This should take you around 90 minutes to complete from warming-up to stretching at the end. You can turn down the number of sets from 4 to 3 for the compound movements if it's too challenging for you.

      Well that's it, I hope my "getting back into shape plan" helped some of you out there and best of luck to those of us trying to get into shape! I will post the diet and nutrition part soon, so make sure to follow and upvote if this you found this (or me) interesting.
      Sort:  

      My fave! Im already slim so i just stick to strength training in the gym. Dont forget to hip thrust! Guys need to fire their glutes too! 😅

      Try doing a bulk diet if you want to. Yeah we need do need more glutes exercises, doing hip thrusts in the gym is a bit awkward, but it won't stop me haha :)

      true especially since alot people arent familiar with it. It is awkward but I dont care, I hope they feel inspired to do it. As far as bulk diets, i eat soooo much as is. I dont really put on weight, but no complaints there lol.

      Sounds like a good plan! I've recently stopped going to gym as well, so I might definitely try this out just to get the hang of it again. Best of luck to both of us! I look forward to your future posts about diet and nutrition.

      Thanks! Glad to hear people appreciate this stuff :)

      Coin Marketplace

      STEEM 0.20
      TRX 0.12
      JST 0.028
      BTC 64097.37
      ETH 3476.43
      USDT 1.00
      SBD 2.53