Gave my 2 weeks notice to work! ^^steemCreated with Sketch.

in #work7 years ago


Finally going to be moving on with my life and leaving a job i have been working at for 3+ years!!!

Because of something quite common...i did my job too well...for too long, and they put me with too much responsibility for me to ever possibly handle.

It had/has gotten to the point where i can do everything i am possibly capable of and still am unable to make the customers happy and it makes me so sad, because i want to do good at my job, and it feels better leaving work knowing you helped everyone and had no issues, than constantly not being able to do this. It just breaks you down little by little overtime.

We are completely understaffed now and i am/was 1 of 3 people left from when i first came into the job, when i started we were a 30-50+ person team!!! Now we only work with 2-5 people when we close, and maybe like 10 during the day now its crazy. I use to get out at 10:30pm (Even closed one day at 9:54pm BEFORE THE STORE EVEN CLOSED) back in the day!, but now we don't expect to leave until after 11 and sometimes into the next day past 12...

We have changed our whole upper management, there is not a single higher up that was there from when i started, so my yearly reviews probably wouldn't even go over very well and they don't really know nothing about me or the work that i did do...anyways and they still owe me a raise since May 6th...


Length of Service
3 year(s), 2 month(s), 24 day(s)


My last review they gave me the LOWEST possible raise, promising me something higher for my next review. I have been waiting almost 3 months, and have not got anything from them... another reason as to why not to stay, indeed?

I just have to pull through and survive these last 11 days and than i will be able to have this stress, anxiety, and pain finally go AWAY for GOOD!

I am really happy about this decision, a little worried about what work is gonna be like these last 2 weeks, but i am not worried about leaving!!!

I hope anyone out there that may be in a similar situation with anxiety issues like mine are able to get themselves out of a job they don't like and move on with their lives, happiness>money!!!!! Maybe this post it's self will help you never know.


Thanks for reading and i hope all of you have a wonderful and happy day ahead of you!!! ^^

~Mr. J.

Sort:  

Hey there buddy I hope things get better. You took a step forward for something new, and I salute you for taking that risk. Work is work and sometimes we need a change. You've worked hard, evidently. I swear your skills and efforts would be much better in a new environment.

Take it easy, I hope you are financially okay for the time being, may you have the best of luck and support!

Thank you for commenting! Financially i am set for a while until i find something better, even with out this paycheck, and already i have already paid for school and my books that i will be starting late August. ^^

"It just breaks you little by little overtime" -I completely understand this. When my partner felt so unfulfilled and unhappy with his job, he changed slowly but drastically. His usual go-getter self started to laugh less, complained more, and was irate almost all the time. He was so unlike himself during that mess. He was afraid to leave his job because we just had our second baby. But he did and that was one of the best decisions we made. He's now on his 7th year in the company he transferred to. Got promoted 3 times in those 7 years. So it turned out really well. I hope the same goes for you. All the best!

Thanks for the best wishes, i hope the same goes for me, but only time will tell! ^^ Also congratulations to your husband, he is the man!!

No risk, no gain! The feeling of freedom that this decision gives you deserves the risks. Congratulations and good luck!

Congrats!! I remember the day when I quit my job and I was the happiest person on the planet. I can't wait for your awesome life to begin.

Same. ^^ Thanks for commenting.

Congratulations @xxjackintheboxx! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week
You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I get you, Mr J.
Newsflash to all you zombie managers and business owners and CEO's- your zombies in suits! You don't eat flesh though... you eat at people's souls and crush there will to live.
3 things must be eliminated from the workplace for a business to excell: Anonymity- we all need to be recognized as individuals, treated with significance, being accepted as fellow people.
Irrelevance- people need to be shown and told how they make a difference.
Lack of measurement- progress needs to be measured and evaluated for one to see where they need to improve and grow stronger.
There is so much more that goes into having a successful team, but these are things needed on an individual basis.
Hoping your new adventure is a success, Mr. J.

Upvoted, omg i wish you were my boss or something. Well said.

I want to know more, do you know i am your follower @ronaldmcatee

Yes, i will possible make a post about more info.

We may actually bring up some legal issues.

You can't please everyone, and you must be content with yourself first and foremost. I learned that lesson the hard way, to long at jobs I hated before realizing I wasn't living and the management were taking advantage financially. It's not worth it. It is scary as hell making such a drastic move, but tell yourself there is no such thing as security, then ask yourself if you trust management to keep you secure. That helps make up your mind real quick!
Best wishes to you, and remember to enjoy your life-you only get one.

I don't trust them at all, no, no, darn right that made my mind up quickly! Thank you for the kind and insightful post. ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56098.81
ETH 2411.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36