IF SOME BIRDS WOULD ACTUALLY DIE EVERY TIME THAT I "KILLED 2 BIRDS WITH 1 STONE" THEY MAY BE EXTINCT BY NOW... BECAUSE I JUST KILLED 3!

in #work6 years ago

DISCLAIMER: This post in no way is encouraging any aggression towards any feathered creatures.


Honestly, I did not even come up with that phrase, although I am guilty of using it. "Killing two birds with one stone" is just a phrase used to imply very effective effort, and that's the part that I like. In this video, I share a recent example.

KILLING THREE BIRDS WITH ONE STONE

THE PHOTO STORY!

Along with all of my other projects waiting for me back in Arkansas is this project that I got started before I left. I'm expanding the culvert for our driveway, but that's not exactly what this post is about. Basically, this is a lot of hard work with a pickax at the moment, but I am thankfully able to make a lot of use of it, as I will show you.

Two main byproducts of this labor are generally created, and both of them are useful to me.The first is small rocks and the other is dirt. Just by grabbing some five gallon buckets I was able to get a lot more done than I had originally planned on.

IMG_0906.JPG

The bucket is a great way to collect the small rocks, because it allows you to store and move many small rocks at once. Also, a bucket-full of small rocks seems to be a good weight for me to move.

I am still working on building the rock columns around my T-posts on our perimeter fence, and it takes a lot of small rocks to fill these in. Since we have to collect small rocks for that project anyway, this was a perfect opportunity. I was encountering a lot of small rocks that I had to move anyway, so now I've got a bunch collected to be used in our fence.

The work I did at the moment generated four full buckets, which may be able to fill about a third of one column. Trust me, that rock column project will take a while to actually complete, but we are making progress!

The other resource that I gathered as I worked on the culvert was buckets full of dirt. Again, I had to move the dirt any way, but thankfully I had another project just waiting for an opportunity like this!

Our small power pole with the meter box on it still had a hole around it in the ground. Somehow I always end up missing dirt when I dig a hole, and there is never enough to fill it back in. Even with @little-peppers periodically trying to shovel more soil into the hole it never really got filled in.

Now, though, with buckets full of dirt at my disposal, I could finally finish securing this pole. It took quite a few buckets, so I am glad that I had so many of them!

We didn't finish until after dark, but we got that job done anyway, and it wasn't even on our current "to-do list." It just happened to fall into place to be finished. Thankfully, I was aware of these other uses for the "waste" from the job I was working on, and it's just one more example of working smarter and being effective! Thanks for checking it out!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-working-smarter

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

how many of those rock posts are you making?

Maybe a couple hundred.......

that's a lot of buckets!

Don't killed that

it's a very good job @papa-pepper.
but I once the bird is dead, if you can not avoid them.

killing 2 birds with one stone is a saying, it means to do two jobs at once, or three in @papa-peppers case.

oo, sorry I just misunderstood.

hay @papa-pepper, have you a post on how you built the fence? me and my neighbour are thinking about putting a fence between our houses and I think the stone effect wall is a great idea.
do the columns come pre-made or did you have to make them your selves? and while I am thinking about it was it easy to make? I am green fingered as you know but when it comes to building things that is a different story haha.

I do believe that some people who have looked at your post really think that you have killed 2 birds with one stone, its funny as it is a phrase that is used very often in our worlds but mean 2 different things in different countries.

Hope your well @papa-pepper and get some rest from your 750 mile trip you must be knackered

Good job Monster-Truck, While Daddy was talking we saw who was doing the work. :-)

Wow this is totally outstanding

Little @papa-pepper just showed me that no effort is wasted... Nice one young leader..

Little @papa-pepper just showed me that no effort is wasted... Nice one young leader..

@papa-pepper's son is very diligent and brave like his father I salute the same child @papa-pepper

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99