PICK YOUR STRUGGLE.

in #work3 years ago


image.png
source

I started an internship 3 months ago as a content writer to develop my writing skill and learn a thing or two about the corporate world. My experience has been great thus far.

First, I work with amazing people. The working environment is quite flexible and my bosses are great. That has been the high point of my internship.

However, the corporate aspect hasn't been great and it is the part I hate. Ever since I was a child I know I never wanted to slave in the office doing paperwork. Thankfully, the universe has navigated my path away from all that bureaucracy, until now.

I think many of you who work in the corporate world will agree with me that a lot of time is wasted on needless protocols that not only stiffens productivity and creativity but also dampens the spirits of enthusiastic workers.

I have a friend who works in the IT department of a bank. He is quite enthusiastic about what he does, however, he is cut up with office bureaucracy.

First, he has to go to work every day even when he is not needed. Secondly, he is tasked with work unrelated to his field and his passion. Thirdly, He doesn't feel challenged.

All these factors have killed his enthusiasm towards a job he was once excited about. This is the experience of many individuals in their place of work, including myself.

Fortunately, the organization I work for is quite flexible but I find myself drowning in administrative work and it is frustrating. It makes it even more difficult knowing I can willfully leave and be fine, but I don't want to be a quitter.

I am big on taking on new challenges, especially in fields that interest me. I have tried to work on my attitude towards paperwork but to no avail. I hate it and I do not see the point of doing anything I hate, especially when it is not in line with my long-term plans for myself.

Also, I have to work with and for people, which is something I don't enjoy either. However, I understand the need to learn how to be a team player and also, some humility. So I have gone through the pain of working when I don't need to (what I earn here on hive is quite sufficient for me).

So here I am, caught between quitting or continuing a job that is slowly becoming a pain in my arse. I have sacrificed a lot already. Since I started working my earnings and activities on the chain have decreased by 50%! and now I am questioning if it was the right decision.

Maybe we are not all structured for the corporate world. I honestly do not think I can last long in a corporate setting. I am too free-spirited and I have options, unlike most people trapped in places they don't want to be.

This is my little rant. I hope to have a conversation with my partner this evening regarding the decisions I plan to take in relation to work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34