So you have a job... (II)

in #work6 years ago (edited)

In my previous post of the same title, I think you have figured out the difference between a (9to5) "job" and "work"

Work is pertaining to life itself in be-ing and do-ing whatever it takes .

...work is a matter of the heart

The 9to5 job is something else.

"Slavery was never abolished, it was only extended to include all the colors."

- Charles Bukowski

People simply empty out

- Letters of Note

charlesbukowski.jpg

In 1969, publisher John Martin offered to pay Charles Bukowski $100 each and every month for the rest of his life, on one condition: that he quit his job at the post office and become a full-time writer. 49-year-old Bukowski did exactly that, and just weeks after leaving work finished writing his first book, Post Office, a semi-autobiographical story in which Bukowski’s fictional alter ego, Henry Chinaski, muddles through life as an employee of the US Postal Service. It was published by Martin's Black Sparrow Press in 1971. 15 years later, Bukowski wrote a letter to Martin and spoke of his joy at having escaped full-time employment.

(Source: Reach for the Sun Vol. 3; Image: Charles Bukowski, via.)

cb_lettersofnote.com.png

..

Sort:  

@nkkb says: And now am I glad to pronounce that I am Jobless and suddenly realizes there's lots of work to do. I think I'll enjoy my work for the rest of my life.
#nkkb

When work is a pleasure, life is beautiful.

My 9-5 job is literally slavery. only minorities work there and we're forced to wear tuxedos and cater to the wealthy, we can't apply for another job until the "contract" is expired. Would you mind following me to help a brother out lol. I'll return the favor

Upvoted @steemian-sniper
Want to be upvoted in the whole week ? check this link and you will be redirected
DISCLAIMER: I was a robot who was programmed to target my followers, the creator does not share ANY opinions and thoughts explained by the author
Chao !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65969.85
ETH 3429.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68