Getting ready to start work againsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #work7 years ago

Only  a few more days until I start working again, I really hope this will help me to recover from these last 2 months. Being busy all day and not having so much time to think about all the terrible things that have happened will likely be the best medicine for me to try and be positive about my life again. 

My job consists of being a tour guide taking mostly German and English speaking guests with a bus to the capital city of Palma de Mallorca, making sure our guests have all the information they need to be able to enjoy the city and getting to see some of the lovely sites such as the beautifull Cathedral and the many historic sites that are to be found in the old town area. 

Image source and weblink for the company : No Frills Excursions

From the outside the job might look easy but its likely the hardest job that I have ever had in terms of a mental challenge. Im also responsible for selling tickets for other activites during the day and in some cases walking tours with our guests. I love working with people and I just hope that my depressed state will not affect my duties.


The only way is forward not backwards and this is something that I slowly need to realize

Have a great day!

Sort:  

I've been a tour guide on and off for over 20 years and I really understood what your saying. People think being a tour guide is soo easy, it can be really emotionally rewarding but man in the days when things go wrong it can be a nightmare.
I am sure that focusing in sharing your beautiful surrounds will help divert your attention from your own struggles. I hope you have a great season with lots of laid back friendly tourists. I wish I could be one of them.

Nice, to see somebody that totally understands where Im coming from. Like you said if things go wrong its a complete nightmare. Luckily this is my third year and I think I have learned enough to avoid and prevent most of these horrible things from happening, but as you know sometimes people can be so dificult and unforeseen circumstances are a daily ocurrance. On the bright side happy guests are such a rewarding feeling :)

I wish you to blossom, grow,
To save, strengthen health.
It is for a long journey -
The main condition.

Let every day and every hour
You will get a new one.
Let the mind be kind to you,
And the heart will be smart.

Try this @mallorcaman

Blend in with your customers\tourist. Walk like them, talk like them, act like them. But still providing professional customer service and sales. Just talk only positive things and try to bite your tongue if the negative starts to take over. Take a deep breathe! HOLD IT...close your eyes, SMILE :))) EXHALE and open your eyes to POSITIVE (((vibrations)))

best wishes @mallorcaman.
Ive suffered from depression and anxiety for many years and sometimes it feels impossible to carry on, but you are right the only way is forward.
Try to remember when things get on top that you have positive things in your life, I know thats easier said than done but when we think negative we become negative when we think positive we become positive.
Hope all goes well for you.

I hope everything goes well as you continue back to work!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.98 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 25 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28