At work #2: Punching holes

in #work7 years ago (edited)

20170817_123041.jpg
Next stage starts with setting up these.

The idea here is to punch holes through the folded piles of sheet so that we can bind them together with thread.

20170817_123059.jpg
Lining everything up along the top edge of the pages using a fond.

The holes will be punched simply via using a thick needle.

20170817_123133.jpg
Using the needle.

20170817_123223.jpg
First holes done!

20170817_124240.jpg
The holes must be alignid according the top (left) edge of the book.

20170817_130009.jpg
Testing a theory.

I tested an idea and found out I can punch holes twice, triple the speed putting multiple folds on the bench. Four folds was simply too much, as pressing the needle would start hurting my hand.

20170817_134606.jpg
Five notebooks ready for binding!

The end result should look something like these:

20170817_140811.jpg
Finished notebooks on another desk.

Tomorrow I'll hopefully be documenting the binding process. I'm already anticipating it. :)

Laterz guys!


[Previous post: At work: Folding notebooks.]


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer

Sort:  

I just saw these previous posts of yours and found these Book Binding Series posts, they're GREAT-- Resteeemed!! Did you get to document the binding process? I've always wanted to try this project and make custom notebooks. They're a great gift idea as well!

:( Unfortunately Yesterday I was told to sort bolts and screws into little plastic bags, and that's all I was able to do that day. I didn't even want to make a post about it because it was so undeserving stuff.

I wonder if I can continue making the same books next Wednesday, or if I'll be assigned to some other work. (That's the problem being on a two-day per week commission.)

I'm hoping to be able to show some book binding though, and when I can get some of that under my belt, I'll definitely be posting new pictures! :)

That is unfortunate, hopefully you get to finish them next week! If not, you should at least write about the binding process so it could be a finished tutorial and people could try it. I'm sure others find it just as interesting and would want to try it as a project at home!

waw great work, is it for your own use?

No no, I'm in rehab work after being unemployed for several years.

Great @gamer00 sir, i hope you have a wonderful sleep last night that's why with fresh mind now your work results are great.

Thanks. I think I need to get to bed soon today too. It's already 23:11.

Awesome idea @gamer00, you have great thoughts and brilliant mind.

Thank you very much! :)

wow amaizing idea about the it i see it first time and now i know how they seeling books and registers

Hand made notebooks are great! Good job!

Wow. Amazing. Hand made notebooks. I didnt know dat. Creative. Cheers to you.

@gamer00 - Sire, that's a nice trick. I like this Sire.

+W+

thats good now i understand ur first post of folding papers @gamer00

I wrongly assumed you were getting into a boring story about folding paper in your last post and was pleasantly surprised with this one. What a fascinating process in creating a notebook by hand. Thanks for sharing this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.89
ETH 3510.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54