The power of a word supported by its Origins

in #words7 years ago

Sometimes when we look at the origin of a word we realize just how powerful that word really is, it almost takes a new stance.

One such word for me is Addict;

I recently learned hat the word addict is a directly taken from the word slave

In history, ancient roman soldiers who performed well in their duties toward their ruler, would be gifted with slaves as a reward or token of gratitude for their services. These slaves would be called 'Addicts'

This was taken from the Latin word 'addictus' that means to devote or surrender yourself to...

As the years went by, Addict became a term commonly used to describe a person who became a slave to anything.

Another such word for me would have to be: Mortgage

The word mortgage is taken from the old French;
mort (dead) and gage (pledge)

So buying a house literally means that you are signing a death-pledge.... some food for thought huh?

image credit

Sort:  

Thank you

Good one!

I for myself wonder all the time why people are so happy being entertained.

Same one here: entertain derrives from old french entretenir which could be translated into entering hold or going to keep the same set of mind

How would you evolve when you are on hold all the time?

Thanks for that reminder to look for the word's roots to truly understand them. I consider featuring your article into my promotion exchange articles. When you are interested, You can check out my concept by clicking on my banner below.

Keep up the good work and steem on :)

Thank you I will go have a look

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60