Word Poetry Challenge #22 : Christmas

in #wordchallenge5 years ago


Christmas


Christmas, for kiddies, is nearly divine
Even more if they fall for the old Santa line
Memories now, that are coming to mind
Although they’re still precious, they’re not always kind


Christmas “spirit,” means plenty of shopping
If there was no shopping, the cheer would be dropping
Commercializing Christmas is what brings the cheer
These days, though it’s quaint seeing Scrooge reappear.


It’s long since the time the day was revered
But some traditions still haven’t veered
Most stores still close on Christmas day
But more don’t each year, which brings some dismay.



Strange tidings are starting; some want there to be
A genderless Santa coming down the chimney
It’s okay to say Merry Christmas once more
Though some don’t like it and will boycott a store.


Have a Merry Christmas as you sit ‘round the tree
Opening gifts and cards from loved ones you’ll see
Later on all of you will gather together
And wish for some snow but not with bad weather.

Christmas © free-reign 2018


Sort:  

Little bit of funny, a little bit of serious. A lot of truth and a, merry xmas. :)

Falling for the santa line I found quite clever. Personally I have never cared about xmas or birthdays or funerals anything that make people think it is ok to congregate and bother others irritates me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the nice review!

I fell for the Santa line, and was quite crushed learning the truth, lol. But it sure made Christmas mean much more to me than if I hadn't been told he was real. I was even convinced I had seen him one year. I was so brainwashed that one year I found toys my mom had hidden, and she just told me that she was helping Santa store gifts for OTHER kids, and I bought it, hook, line and sinker! 😂

As for funerals, it will be in my will to not have one. I think it's wasteful to spend so much $$$ to dispose of rotting flesh, when people are starving.

follow me please as i did to you

lets support each other

Congratulations @free-reign! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 400 replies. Your next target is to reach 500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14