Making a Bowsaw, Part 5, Chopping the Mortice

I showed how I cut the tenon on the cross brace earlier. Now I will chop out the mortice in the handle.

IMG_9011.JPG

The handle and the cross brace need to be able to pivot slightly to allow the blade to be tightened.

I marked a slight radius in the handle to accept the cross brace.

IMB_BgwtgD.GIF

Then I use the chisel to shape the radius to the mark.

IMB_hjzPRe.GIF

Once I have a smooth curve I mark out the length and width of the mortice.

IMB_JTmJUs.GIF

IMB_BgGFJK.GIF

This is mostly just to be sure the brace is more or less centered. Remember from last time, I cut the tenon to be exactly as wide as the mortice chisel. The mortice will also be just as wide as the mortice chisel, so a snug fit is automatic. The lenght of the mortice will be a little long to allow for some pivot.

IMB_oqSjh3.GIF

IMB_2okFiB.GIF

IMB_qXHpan.GIF

Another view of the fit of the joint.

IMB_XWs4ID.GIF

And a closeup of the pivot action.

IMB_sQpJLC.GIF

We have started a woodworking community here on steemit and would welcome you. Come join us on our discord channel, click the link and follow the directions to sign up here: https://discord.gg/v9YaGYw

Thanks for looking and let me know what you think,
Until next time,
@skycranehandwork

Sort:  

That thing is coming along real nice..... Its gonna be too purty to use.....

I think you misspelled sturdy.

Nope its purty.......lol

This post has been resteemed by @woodworkcurators
woodlogo2.png

Daily promotion and curation for the Woodworking community.
You can read about us here

I am new here and was just browsing the woodworking channel. Love your work. And I am also amazed at the moving pictures that you have on your posts. How do you do that? And what file type are they? gif? They are really helpful for knowing what you are talking about and seeing everything in action.

Thanks, and welcome to woodworking on steem. Yes, those are just gif files. I used an app called imgplay to convert from video. Unfortunately, if the files are too big, they really bog down the browser, so only a few seconds at a time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63