You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Back and Looking For Ideas......

Man as with anything know yourself (what you enjoy making) then know who you want to serve (your customers) then find them and sell them stuff.

My parents started their woodworking business years ago and have gone through different phases.

Lathe turned fancy pins. They collaborated with my jeweler uncle and made some nice corporate gifts for some of their ceo friends and then friends of friends.

Then my brother and his wife started having kids, so my folks started making toy chests, toys to put in them, a crib, then sold a bunch of cribs, nursing chairs, tons of stuff. Less clients but more money.

They did the fairs and festivals but sometimes they won big and sometimes they actually lost money. They make really beautiful things now that they themselves are interested in, but their money comes now 100% from the network they built along the way.

Their biggest earner is one small cedar soapdish that they mass produce for one cosmetics company. With that one product they fund all their expenses.

My best advice is to do the thing that really gets your heart going when you think about it. Just do it, and record it. Then share the heck out of it with everyone.

Good luck brother! You'll find your way!

Sort:  

By the way, I got to rambling there and forgot what brought be to comment in the first place haha

I wonder if you know my friend microwave Dave. He popularized the cigar box guitar in North Alabama (or rather repopularized it) and has hosted a blues specific radio show on npr for a decade. If you want or need inspiration for cig box guitars check him out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37