You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Okay, as promised, here's a step by step follow along, for some speaker stands.

in #woodworking6 years ago

On the front of the legs where you round them off. Would it not be faster to sketch half a circle and the cut a the rough circle with the jig saw then sand? This would also save a bit on sand paper. If your on sure What I'm talking about I can Send a pic on discord on my lunch

Sort:  

Sure, you can send me that, that would be cool, thanks Koday! I should say that, I really stretch the use of sandpaper. Especially with the belt sander. I've only changed the belt 2 times, after countless hours of use. I use a Powertek Abrasive Belt and Disk cleaning stick, very very often. It really doesn't take me much time anymore, to make the raw curves on the belt sander. I'm actually quite fast with it now, because of all the practice I've had.

I had a wood shop teacher in high school that was a real stickler about using the least amount of sanding as possible. Like in 7th grade we were only aloud to use the scroll saw, drill press, and the sanding wheel. well for one project we needed a little ramp like thing. so we sanded down a 3/4" board the have a 45 degree edge, and he about lost he shit that we didn't get him to cut it on the ban saw. I did something similar later on in like 10th or 11th grade and he about lost it. so doing less sanding is something that's always stuck with me.

Yeah, I can see how that would stick with a person. I really wish, I would've taken wood shop in high school. I just wasn't into woodworking then. It wasn't offered to us here, in middle school. By the way, what is it about shop teachers? I did take auto shop in high school, and he nuttier than a fruitcake. I saw him actually throw a large combination wrench at a kid for doing something he thought was wrong. He didn't hit him with it, but was pretty close. It looked pretty precise. Like he wasn't going to hit him with it, but, he was damn accurate, lol.

I don't know this teach of mine was always calm, but it was the look on his face when you did something he thought was stupid. he looked like he wanted to throw something at you, but he knew he couldn't. but he was also by far my favorite teacher probably because he was the only teacher to really teach me a skill. I mean I had Metal shop and CAD (And I'm now a draftsman), but it wasn't the same as the woodshop. I feel like he was the only teacher at my school that would also teach morals so that was another thing he had.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 59288.97
ETH 3114.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39