The Simple Things In Life!

in #woodworking7 years ago

Oh what fun it is to ease one of mankind's oldest burdens.

From firewood to fantastic with a little bit of sweat, sawdust, and sandpaper.

Just made this guy over the last few days from a wedge of a large storm felled cherry tree.... just like the one sitting next to it in the first few pictures. Saved it from the firewood pile, and carved out this super cool toilet paper dispenser for my roommate.

Before this, we lived like heathens, with our paper rack hanging our paper from the side of the toilet tank. It was a pain to reach around and use it, so we ended up just putting the roll on the edge of the sink. Not any longer! now we're living the high life with this chainsaw carved cherry beaut!

This is my fourth generation, and I've learned a lot about how to make it as funtional as possible. This one securely holds the roll without it skipping off or spinning out of control when you go to rip it. My best one yet! and what's even better, I'm sure that I've cut it in such a way that it will dry without cracking. Long after I'm dead and gone, this thing will still be doing its thing.

Before and after pix brought to you by Solomon's Mountain Miracle - All Purpose Rubbing Compound. If it needs rubbed, rub some Solomon's on it!

Sort:  

Thank you :) It's a lot of fun to do!

I strongly agree

Love how defined the wood grain is! Awesome

:) I have fun playin with grain and such!

love!!

Great, I really do like your designs.

thank you for your support :) much more to come

Bravo, Peace to Earth

This post has been resteemed by @woodworkcurators
woodlogo2.png

Daily promotion and curation for the Woodworking community.
You can read about us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66