Barn Door Remodel

in #woodworking6 years ago

I was helping a family member with some remodel work, getting her house ready to put on the market, when I found a stack of old wood in her garage rafters. She told me it had been up there since she bought the place, nearly 20 years, and if I wanted it I could have it. I told her I would take it, but that I would also try to incorporate some of it into her remodel. So after doing the boring parts of the remodel--new floors, paint, and appliances, I decided that she needed a new door to the upstairs bedroom. It was a flimsy sliding plastic accordion door that needed to go. A regular door wouldn't work upstairs because of the roof line, so I went with a sliding barn style door.

photo 2 (1).JPG

After getting all the wood down from the garage, and removing all the dust and rat droppings, I could see that there were some beautiful colors and patterns in the wood. It was some type of pine, with swirls of red and blue throughout. I ordered up a sliding door hardware kit--I think from Amazon--and got to work on the door. I went with a simple border frame over diagonally place boards.

photo 3.JPG

Once the hardware came, we were ready for installation, which went pretty easy. It was a good quality kit, with everything we needed to get the door up and secure. It didn't take long before it was rolling nice and smoothly.

photo 3 (1).JPG

With the door complete, I was done with the remodel and the house was put on the market. It sold soon after and my Aunt told me she wished she could have taken the door with her when she moved. It was a fun project, and I'm glad that the unique and beautiful wood we found stashed away in the garage was put to good use.

photo 1 (1).JPG

Sort:  

The grain in that wood is out of this world! Looks like a tree from Mars. I love that you put the grain at a diagonal. Those doors are art pieces.

Thanks, definitely some interesting grain. I didnt do anything special--its all the beauty of the wood!

It really gives a country feel to the room. Nice work!

Thanks, I think so too.

@woodworkcurators is a daily curation service for the woodworking community.

woodlogo2.png

You can read about us here

That grain is really effective. Nice post.

Thanks, the grain was very unique, haven't seen it in other pine I've worked with. My brother said it might be from a Jeffrey Pine because of the red colors

Nice build. I really like the color and pattern of that wood.
I've seen quite a few ridiculously placed sliding barn doors lately, but this one really serves the space well. As you said, a regular door wouldn't work with the roof line.

My wife has been asking for a sliding barn door, but I don't yet have a location that actually makes sense. Maybe someday...

Thanks! My girlfriend and I joke about how popular sliding barn doors are right now, and I agree, some of them are pretty over the top!

Very cool! That grain is amazing!

Well done! Looks stunning. Your approach to use the boards in a diagonal pattern gives me some ideas for my next projects, thank you.

Thanks! Glad this post gave you some ideas.

Remodeling with barn doors has become a popular trend in recent years as it adds a touch of rustic charm to any room. Not only are they aesthetically pleasing, but they are also practical and functional. Barn doors can be used as room dividers, closet doors, or even as a unique alternative to traditional doors.One of the advantages of barn doors is their versatility. They come in a variety of styles, materials, and finishes, so you can choose the perfect door to fit your design aesthetic. Additionally, barn doors are space-saving as they do not require any floor space to swing open, making them an ideal option for small rooms. If you're thinking about remodeling with barn doors, it's important to hire a professional door service company like http://www.boyntonbeachslidingdoorservice.com/ . Their team of experts can help you choose the right barn doors for your space and ensure they are installed correctly. With their extensive knowledge and experience in door installation, you can trust that your new barn doors will look great and function properly. In addition to barn doors, Boynton Beach Sliding Door Service offers a range of services, including sliding door repair, installation, and maintenance. They are committed to providing their customers with high-quality service and ensuring that their doors are functioning properly and efficiently.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43