What's on the Bench This Week......Barrel Coffee Tables

This week I have been busy building 2 coffee tables with a unique twist. It is a replica Whiskey Barrel coffee table. I made 2 of them. One stained in an Espresso and one stained in an Early American. I made these table with Pine. Here are some of the pic's with some of the process of assembling them and the finished product.

barrel 15.jpg
http://foter.com/explore/oak-coffee-tables

This is the picture that a customer sent to me and said "Mike, can you build this for me?" Oh why not give it a go, so here it goes.

barrel 6.jpg

So this is the body formed.

Barrel 1.jpg

Then I built the cradle where it sit on.

barrel 3.jpg

Then I built the top and put strips of Oak under the top for security and strength. I added chains so it doesn't drop back and crack the wood.

barrel 11.jpg

This is what the Early American inside the belly looks like finished.

barrel 14.jpg

This is the almost finished product. Just need to find some black leather strips to put on the outside with some fancy nails. But this is close to what the first picture was.

barrel 7.jpg

And this is the one I built stained in the Espresso. Not a terribly difficult build.I just nailed the strips of the pine to the ends all the way around the half circle. There was no bending wood or anything like that. I encourage all my woodworking friends out there to use your imagination and give it a go yourself. It's a popular piece for me and my customers.

Sort:  

It turned out beautiful Mike. @originalworks

Good job replicating the design! I think I like the lighter stain as it shows it off a little better.

I hear ya, me too, but the customer wanted it dark to match the dining set I built them. Thank you

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

These are really beautiful! You are a great at building things.

Nice interpretation. It is a cool design. I have never seen one before

This post has been resteemed by @woodworkcurators
woodlogo2.png

Daily promotion and curation for the Woodworking community.
You can read about us here

Se you are writing. Are you also a ex addict?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53