How to Make Wooden Toys to Sell at Craft Fairs

in #woodworking7 years ago (edited)

I asked my Papa once about when a man should know when it was time to retire. "Well, son," he said, "I suppose that would be either when he's made enough money to retire, or he's had enough aggravation at his job that he just does it!"

I haven't made enough, that's for sure, but I'm rapidly approaching the latter situation!

I discussed this with my wife and we decided that we like our lifestyle and the decrease in pay would cramp our style.

Besides we need something to occupy us in our golden years, so we decided to monetize our craft skills and start selling the stuff we make at craft fairs to see if we could supplement our income when the big day comes.

It's been about two years now, I'm still working, but I think we've found our niche.

One day I was kicking around our local big box lumber yard and found some real nice spruce 2 X 4 studs. The wheels in the ole head started choochin' and an actual idea developed. I bought a few, and loaded up the pick-up and headed to the shop!

I squared up one end of a stud and cut off about a six inch length and brought it in to the missus, on account of her being a better artist than I.

"Draw me a simple car on this," I said, "one I can cut out easily on the band saw."

She sketch one out and handed it back, it even had a little round window. "I never saw a port hole in and automobile before," I snickered.

"Well, I've been in your shop and I've never seen a square drill bit out there either," she says.

This girl is way ahead of me, I think she married beneath herself!

I headed back out to the shop and cut out the little car she had drawn, clamped the shape in my drill press and used a forstner bit to drill out the port hole window.

"Hmmmm," says I, "What can I use for wheels?"

I was about to give up when the wife comes out to "check on my work ". She does that a lot, and it's not because I'm prone to accidents either .

"They sell little wooden wheels at Hobby Lobby, you know?" she said.

"I know that!" I didn't but she did not have to know that.

So we load up and make a trip to Hobby Lobby.

Sure enough she led me right to them and left me to look through the selection.

I picked up some medium sized wheels and found these little pegs to pair with them to use as axles.

I met the missus at the register and put my two items on the counter and unloaded her, 5 yards of different colored textile material, six skeins of yarn, a variety of dried flowers, some Christmas items that were on sale, (it was May), a bottle of glue, a picture frame, ten spools of thread, a pack of needles, ........etc. The register receipt was ten feet long! But I digress.

Back at the shop I drilled holes for the axel pegs and test fit the wheels! Perfect!

I disassemble the thing and sanded it smooth then, using Titebond III waterproof glue, it's non-toxic, I glued the wheels on. You must be careful to leave the axle dry where the wheels roll.

I was on a roll now! I had her draw out airplanes and race cars, a school bus, a flat bed, a camper with a pick up truck.

I spent two days playing with building inventory to sell at the next craft fair!

She priced them ranging from $8.00 for the more simple items up to $22.00 for the airplanes. They sold quite well!

I'll have to make some more for next year.

I cut about eight toys from each 2 X 4 and I could get a pickup truck and a race car from the same 6 inch piece so that was 16 toys per 8 foot 2 X 4 when I made those models.

I hope you liked this little post.
Thanks for reading and,
CARRY ON!




Source

Sort:  

very nice creativity with wooden

Thanks for stopping by to read my post, I appreciate the support! Carry On!

Treecraft

Indeed! Thanks for the comment!

Great post..... I am in the process of making toys and other crafty type things for a. the grandson and B to sell at craft fairs...... I don't draw well but will keep trying. Your designs gave me some ideas..... Great Job

They were fun to make....I made templates out of some scrap luan after I perfected the shapes. They sell well around Christmas, not so well before October.

I believe our paths are quite similar, as we've also recently began to tinker with extra income. I've been fairly fortunate to begin selling some nicer cutting boards, with my bride beginning to make a little extra from sewing and selling place mats and table runners. All the best to you, peace, JerryT

I do cutting boards! Here's one of my chaotic patterns, I'm planning a post with some video about these in the future! I don't run into too much competition, not many folks want to put in the effort. I bet it's the same where you are.

Another upvote from you !! You are just too kind! I loved the alien you drew, the X Files was one of my favorite shows too! Mulder and Scully in the eyes! Ya'll show go over here and check this girl's work out! She is awesome!

This post has been resteemed by @woodworkcurators
woodlogo2.png

Daily promotion and curation for the Woodworking community.
You can read about us here

Win SBD in our Weekly Woodworking Competition

Wow....That's very kind! Thanks for the resteem!

Thank you for the kind comment!

This post has received a 33.28 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @beekerst

You have been resteemed by @resteemy, courtesy of @beekerst!
Want to increase your following? Read more about me here

This is creative, love it.

Thanks for your kind reply!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58176.03
ETH 2475.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40