Sort:  

I made a pair of these just after I moved to Virginia. The back legs are very long and are straight. My current design is derived from this one. The back legs are a bit shorter, they have a bend in them, and there are only three back rails.

I'm not sure if I will do hickory bark seats again or Shaker tape this time. The hickory bark is a miraculous material to work with, but harvesting it is a lot of work.

Someday I will try my hand at making a Windsor chair. The wood for the seats is waiting in my shop already.

That is a cool looking chair. I figured it was some sort of bark for the seat, but that looks like it would take a lot of long pieces, we have a lot of paper birch up here, but I am not sure you could get strips long enough for a chair.

Hickory bark is thick and very tough. When it is wet you would think it is leather, but when it dries it is hard like wood.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94