Table project for the little person who lives in my housesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #woodworking7 years ago

The little person in my house who eats all my food and demands stuff from me needed a table.  I kinda like her. So I made her one. Yes, I dabble in the woodworking arts from time to time. I made our kitchen table so I thought I would make a little person table. I take most of my innovation from this man.

I found the plans on a Canadian woodworking site. No seriously its called "Canadian Woodworking" and yes I do prefer woodworking projects that are from Canada. Sometimes Nationalism is a necessary evil when picking out woodworking plans. Even if I am a Murican. I was told by a big person who also lives in my house, she could just buy a $25 kids table and chair set from IKEA. I was like "are you crazy that's like $50 SBD's!"

So I went to the store and got the materials and stuff that I needed. Of course I needed some new tools to accomplish this task, and this gave me a reason to buy them. Look at me I am practically making money.  

So lets begin

I started with the legs. I guesstimated how much wood I needed at the store and then I got some more. Looks like I made it.

I then glued the legs together and while I was waiting on the glue to dry I started working on the table top. 

The plans call for a 3/4 in. plywood or create your own. So I picked up some 1/4 in. dry-erase board and 1/2 in. ply to make the top.

When cutting the top I used blue tape to prevent the wood from chipping so the cut looks nice and clean.

After cutting the boards I glued them together and used this very important tool to clamp the boards together. Glad I am finally using it. "Damn you 15's"

 

Once the legs were all glued together I sanded them and screwed them to the side skirts. 

This plan makes a table with a storage compartment for art supplies and hiding snacks. The 3/4 in. plywood shelf rests nicely on the shelf supports.  

After gluing the top together I decided I needed a nice edge protector to cover up the sides and an edge to stop the USMC food (crayons) from rolling off.

Next was the hard part. The hinges. The added edge I had put around the top, made it much harder. So its took some thinking and a few tries to get it all rounded up. I had to cut away some of the trim on the top and the legs for the hinges to work right. This was my first attempt with hinges so now I know what to do the next time. 

I cut to much off, but it still works.

I attached the top to the hinges and gave it a good sanding to make it smooth. I like the natural pine look and I think I will leave it as is for now. Might change my mind later. Might let the little person paint it later down the road. 

I am making a second kids table to sell, if anyone is interested in buying with SBD or steem. I am in the market for SBD's or steem. Or if you are interested in a DIY project you would like built and can be sent in the mail lets talk.

Thanks for reading. 

Link to the plans.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible. Find out more about us on our website: www.steemmakers.com

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Fun little project there. Looks like it turned out really nice for her.

Hi, I only just got to read this as I was away for a while. Great project and nicely explained. We would love to see more of your posts in the woodworking section. We have a discord channel as well now. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81