Taking a cherry

in #wood6 years ago

IMG_3546.JPG

Amongst my many pursuits I am pretty handy with a chainsaw. I come from a farm originally, I suppose more of a homestead in modern parlance, and due to this I am able to turn my hand to many things. I would not say that I am an expert in anything but a keen amateur in a lot.

I have a wood stove and therefore a constant thirst for wood - every time a large storm passes over I become excited at the prospect of some new tree to fell. The unfortunate side to this hobby is that it comes to the fore in the dark and cold months, the days are short and the conditions can be brutal.

It is a rare treat for me to use my saw in warm weather and when the chance arises I will leap into action. So when my friend called me because a tree in her garden had split, and it was a warm sunny weekend, I was loading up my truck as we were speaking on the phone.

She had a massive cherry tree in her front garden and the wind had caused it to split. Half of the tree had cracked down the middle and laid itself on top of the dyke (dry stone wall) that was the boundary for her property. This presented a number of interesting challenges - I had to figure out where the weight balance was, try not to damage the dyke, try not to damage the wall and more importantly cause no harm to myself or others.

I started by clearing away the branches from the far end, piece by piece, noting how the tree moved as each branch was removed. Then I worked my way from the far end back towards the trunk, taking care with each log to ensure there was no dramatic weight shift. Eventually the tree was cut back to the main standing trunk.

IMG_3545.JPG

A chainsaw has two filler caps, one for the two-stroke fuel and another for chain lubricant. Every time I have to refill I take the opportunity to give the teeth on the chain a couple of rubs with the sharpening file. This serves two purposes, firstly my saw is always in top condition for cutting (which makes it much safer to use) and secondly I secretly get a chance to get my breath back if the job has been arduous. On this occasion it was very much for the second reason!

We looked at the remaining tree trunk and I observed that the bulk of the tree was now imbalanced and leaning towards her house. While the cherry tree was magnificent when it was whole, it looked horribly unstable now and I suggested that perhaps it too should be felled because sooner or later it might fall onto her house, or her child. She agreed and I set to planning how to take it down.

I started by clumbing onto the the natural platform that had been created by removing the split half and put in a neat hinge, bringing the tree down slowly and gently as I could. This worked and I was able to log the fallen part quickly. I then set to logging the standing trunk section by section. My saw seemed to be ripping through the tree in no time and I put this down to my perfectly sharpened saw. I thought this until I noticed that as I cut each log from the top there was a growing hole in the tree. By the time I was at hip height the walls of the tree were only a few centimetres thick with two thick vine like tendrils climbing up the inside.

IMG_3539.JPG

A classic case of cherry tree core rot. If I had not felled that seemingly healthy tree, there is no doubt in my mind that it would have disastrously fallen fairly soon after I left.

I am now forever cautious around cherry, I work on the assumption that it is hollow and plan my felling of them on that basis. I never assume that just because a tree looks healthy from the outside, that it is healthy on the inside! You will notice however that the dyke is perfect, I managed to drop that large branch without causing any damage, something I am quite proud of.

Sort:  

Congratulations @agrestic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I am sorry I missed this one. You might like this one I put up in our homesteading account. https://steemit.com/art/@granolalight/chetwynd-chainsaw-sculptures

I have never seen a cherry tree with that kind of girth before. Good job on not trying to fell it from the trunk. That could have been disastrous. I've seen a few kick back or go sideways because you think you have holding wood.

That should keep your stove bucking for a while.

Good one, but sometime the noise coming from the chainsaw can be terrifying

Can be damaging to your hearing too. I always wear the proper kit, helmet, visor, ear defenders, kevlar gloves and kevlar trousers. As the saying goes "You only make one mistake with a chainsaw!".

Greetings @agrestic! Your post was chosen at random and was resteemed as part of Shareables' campaign. Enjoy your free resteem!

If you wish to stop receiving this comment, please do unfollow us.

By upvoting this notification, you're supporting our campaign in Steemit. For more information about our campaign, click here!

@Shareables, we resteem anything we find shareable. That means good quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

God bless from us @Shareables!

Hello @agrestic, upv0t3
This is a free service for new steemit users, to support them and motivate them to continue generating valuable content for the community.
<3 This is a heart, or an ice cream, you choose.

:)


R4ND0M:
5731 7323 5287 7406
4743 2159 5706 6369
1544 8556 2887 4669
2362 3373 5620 5736

It looks like you have had a lot of work to do after stormy days, but the good thing about it is safe for the next storm. By the way, @agrestic there is a nice contest about hobby, you are very good writer and you have a lot of interesting hobbies, I think it worth to try to take a part, even if you do not win a praise but you post will be seen by many people who taking part in it. Think about it:
https://steemit.com/contest/@anomadsoul/contest-my-2018-this-is-my-hobby-or-100-sbd-in-prizes

hmmm, that's interesting that they get so hollow... but now there is so much that can be made with all that wood you sawed off!!!

Btw, I hope to see you on discord when you have a chance, i'd like to invite you to a radio show if you are interested :) we can converse more in the chat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25