You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I support #womenspeakout #teamgirlpowa 100% OF THE SBD PAYOUT OF THIS POST DONATED TO @TEAMGIRLPOWA

in #womenspeakout6 years ago

thank you for saying this. i try not to put too much energy into the times I was taken advantage of by men at work, their anger when I didnt accept advances, the raises I never got, the jobs I was qualified for that went to men. It's status quo, even today. I hope one day it will change.

I know what kind of society I was brought up in and how men were taught to behave and believe just as much as women were forced to accept that this is how it is. I have fought sexual discrimination my whole life without getting on any bandwagon because guess what? women on bandwagons are called dirty names by men so that men can avoid having to face the issues.

I also know that my experience is just a drop in the bucket compared to other women who weren't as lucky, who couldn't avoid an encounter. I read with pain the reality of women in third world countries sold off, forcibly circumcised, married, mutilated, because of the beliefs and customs in that culture. And there's a weird ironic knowing part of me that feels lucky that I was born a white woman in North America.

I am a survivor of childhood molestation and adult rape several times over. My niece is also a survivor, by a church pastor. Several friends of mine have similar stories.

I try not to let it affect me, but it does, just like it has affected my niece for years. She is 16 now, and went from being a happy vivacious girl into a reclusive fearful one. I won't force the issue on anyone, but I'm proud to speak out.

Sort:  

I love you @torico <3 Thank you for sharing this here as well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32