You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Life in a Fat Suit - Why do We Accept Size Discrimination?

in #womenspeakout6 years ago

Ohhh myyy goooddd ... this. Is. Everything.

"You know how it is, you're just looking and they're constantly coming up to you asking if you need anything, telling you about the specials, asking if they can get a room started for you."

Ive never had that 😂 But i think thats a poverty thing.

Honestly I relate to this even tho my situation is different. I started taking meds for anxiety and now its out of control. But i always struggle before. I have a low metabolism and was raised on that fatty carb heavy american country diet. Huge portions n lots of red meat. Have been despatetly trying to change but being treates like a fat circus side show makes me not want to try.

I do think this is an issue for men as well. Not quite the same but i see and hear men being fat shamed all the time. And i habe done it before to a guy who was a lot more overweight than me. I'm so glad i dod the work of undoing that . So many amazing humans happen to be larger or more curvy due to body shape.

Also, fyi the fat shsming is worse if you are a person of color-- edp if yiu dont speak English. I know some super thin women who are curvy and called fat because of big legs,hips,thighs, shoulders, face shape... anything that is not white, thin, wealthy looking is questionable to dept store workers and many more. The medi is chsnging slightly and not without insane backlash.

Ty so much for bringing this up. The womens perspective of fatshaming is very important imo!!!! And from thin to cuddly you made a dynamic change to see it.

Sort:  

Fat shaming is definitely an issue for men and people of all races. But why is it somehow excusable? That's the part I just can't understand or accept. I guess having spent time on both sides of the fence I have a unique experience in being able to feel the difference. It's just not ok, and we have to stop allowing it in media and in life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68441.01
ETH 3847.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66