You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Life in a Fat Suit - Why do We Accept Size Discrimination?

Wow! First of all, thank you for writing this — for sharing your story and shining a spotlight on how far we have to go as a society in the way we treat people who have bigger bodies. Second, f*ck that doctor! The fact that he didn't believe you makes me SO mad. There is nothing so infurating to me as speaking the truth and having someone think you're lying. Isn't that malpractice? You had a medical condition and he was ignoring a direct result of that medical condition, instead of looking further and trying to help you he added to the stigma so many others were perpetuating. Ugh.

Regardless, I am SO sorry that has been your experience. I applaud you for speaking up about it, and you're absolutely amazing to have the confidence you have when you've had to deal with this. You're 100% right that beauty is the reflection of inner happiness. I've seen people of all sizes who reflect such beauty! Sending big hugs from Canada! And I don't care how wide I have to open my arms to hug you. You're beautiful, @appiepearl, and you're an inspiration. May we, as a human race, learn to be kind to each other. Stay strong, sister!

Sort:  

Thank you! I think being on both sides of the fence helped me realize the magnitude of the problem. Although I'm always advocating for equality and kindness, this was the first time I experienced any 'ism myself. It hurts and it destroys people's inner love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69236.16
ETH 3848.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66