You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I support #womenspeakout #teamgirlpowa 100% OF THE SBD PAYOUT OF THIS POST DONATED TO @TEAMGIRLPOWA

in #womenspeakout7 years ago

Wow, @carlgnash. So very well said. I’m sure it was not easy to write this post. The issues are so incredibly fraught with land mines that even coming out with well thought out statements of support can feel risky, especially (I imagine) for a guy. This sounds like a wonderful initiative, and I look forward to learning more, and happily support with my uovote.

The more guys who get the depth and breadth of the challenge, the more it may be possible for us to arrive one day at a more enlightened and positive homeostasis. Right now it’s a challenge to find common ground, and a healthy way to even discuss the issues. You’ve done such a wonderful job of capturing them.

I have never been raped, but have dealt with a wide spectrum of harassment up to and including events that felt life threatening. I joined Steemit around the time the “me too” movement started, and I wrote a post to share my stories. (If anyone is interested, they can read it here. The point of it was to illustrate the number and variety of ways one average woman is accosted. I am not exceptional. But all those things and more have happened to little old me. They are just a selection of the most startling examples.

Thank you again for this great post. I hope it makes a lot of money for the cause and opens more eyes.

Sort:  

Yes exactly @jayna and well said. The point is that most women have stories like this. And I thank you again for sharing yours, in your post previously and again here. Much love - Carl

I wish it was not so. But yes, I think most women have stories. And some have many.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54640.80
ETH 2444.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16