I Ended up in Portugal Because of a Letter and a Check From My Dead Aunt Who I Never Really Knew

in #womenofsteemit7 years ago (edited)

FullSizeRender 53.jpg

Last May, my aunt died. I didn’t really know her that well. When I was a kid, younger than 10, I remember she came and stayed at the duplex where my family used to live.

This was in the early 90s, and the twins (Lisa and Lori) showed up and walked in like something straight out of Melrose Place with their big curly hair and dark eyeshadow and bright lipstick. I suppose that reference also comes from the fact that they did actually come to visit their hometown, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, from LA, where they were living, the only place I had ever known them to live. My most vivid memory from that week was when I was sitting on the toilet with the top down watching Lori get ready to go out. She was putting on makeup and using the curling iron and spraying massive amounts of hairspray into her big hair. Then she asked me if I wanted her to do my hair. When I was little, I loved when people played with my hair (and to be honest, this trait hasn’t gone away—I STILL love when people play with my hair). I remember looking at her thinking she was so cool and so pretty as she carefully brushed and curled and sprayed my hair just like hers. Well, not just like hers, because at that time, I had stick straight hair. She must have been in her early 20s then. Lisa and Lori, the twins, the babies of the family with 10 older siblings, my mom being one of them.

The next time I saw Lori was at my grandma’s funeral in 2013. She didn’t look as cool as she used to; her hair wasn’t big anymore, and her face looked so tired. But she had this wildness about her that hadn’t gone away. I had a brief flashback when I saw her in that weird funeral hall, to that moment in the bathroom we shared. I didn’t bring it up. I wonder if she would have remembered.

In between those years of the bathroom and the funeral, the only connection I had with her was through Facebook. She was always commenting on my posts and photos, telling me how much she loved me. She did this with all the other cousins too, all of us scattered around the US, and me wherever I was, Argentina, Mexico, Spain, Oregon. I found out through a bit of inference and finally asking my mom that she was a frequent meth user. She was fine, considering, but it became really clear to me why she was spending all this time on Facebook telling her nieces and nephews how much she loved us though she barely knew us. Some of the other cousins blocked her because it was a lot of awkward commenting, but I never did. I didn’t mind so much I guess. Just a crazy long lost aunt telling me I’m pretty and how proud she is of me for being such a free spirit.

I got a $500 check in the mail last May after she died. She had cancer that could have been treated. There must have been some kind of guilt she felt which kept her from the doctor. The cancer took over her insides, then her outsides. Meth probably makes a person pretty out of touch with their body and what’s going on with it, so I imagine she didn’t know. Or maybe she had a feeling and just didn’t want to deal with it. If you don’t go to the doctor, no one can tell you there’s something wrong. Either way, a person on meth doesn't want to go to the doctor.

The check was accompanied by a letter explaining that the money should be used for something amazing. Not for bills. Not for rent. Not for clothes. Wild Aunt Lori.

This picture was taken in May, 2016 in Miramar, a little seaside village in Portugal. I’m standing on an old Pagan chapel that has been there at the edge of the Atlantic, literally in the water when the tide rises, for hundred of years. Capela Do Senhor Da Pedra, Chapel of the Lord of Stone, Chapel in the Sea.

You know how you go to see a beautiful thing, and because it’s so beautiful, there are so many people around that want to see it too, and then some of the magic of that beautiful thing vanishes because of the crowd? When Omar and I got to Miramar, it was raining, but the sun came out around sunset hour, and so we walked to the beach to that chapel, and no one was there. The rain must have kept them away, but now the sun was out, and we were alone, climbing this 17th century mystical place of worship that has somehow withstood the crashing and crashing and storms and currents of the brutal Atlantic. Then there was me, leaning on that cross in the fire orange light of the dropping sun reflecting over the sand and the chapel and the water.

IMG_7599.JPG

I had been wanting to go to Portugal for a long time, so I took Omar, and we spent a week there. We went to Lisbon, took a ride-share up the coast to that little town Miramar, and then spent the last days in Porto. We ate so much fish and shrimp. So much.

IMG_7555 2.JPG

I remember we we walking around Lisbon, and this place, not even a bar, was giving away tastes of this traditional Portuguese liqueur called ginjinha. I thought it was going to be like Port, but it wasn’t at all. It tasted like fermented cherries. I could have bought a glass of it, but for the price of 3 glasses, they were selling the whole bottle. So me, knowing me, of course I bought the bottle. Lori said I should have an amazing time with that money. Omar and I spent the afternoon walking the cobbled streets of Lisbon, up and down massive alley stairways cut into the hills, drinking that sweet winey beverage.

That’s the story of these photos, and also my tribute to my aunt Lori, who I never really knew, and who I’ll never forget.

portoooo.jpg

IMG_7462.JPG

Sort:  

Such a heartwarming story. I'm sorry for your loss, but I'm sure your Aunt is looking down proudly. Glad you both had an amazing time in Portugal, it sounds like a lovely trip.

When it happened, I was so shocked. I just couldn't believe it. Maybe without that note, I would have paid my bills like I thought I needed to with that money. Instead, I have this beautiful memory. Such an amazing gift, and one that will last forever. That was my first trip with Omar too, and it was really special.

Such a beautiful and poignant story. "The check was accompanied by a letter explaining that the money should be used for something amazing." Even though your aunt Lori had her struggles with meth and cancer, she was such a loving person. Travel to Portugal was a very meaningful way of commemorating her bitter sweet life. Thank you for sharing your kind, fond memories of her and your amazing trip. <3

I think the trip was an amazing way to commemorate her, and I will remember it for the rest of my life.

What an amazing story and thoughtful aunt... Upvoted and re-esteemed!

Sometimes things like that just happen for a reason, and it changes your whole life. I'm not even talking about the trip to Portugal per se, though it was unforgettable. Just the kind of reflection that whole thing caused inside of me . Powerful. Thank you so much for your support, truly.

being a portuguese myself, this is a amazing story! hope you enjoyed my country :) and Im trully sorry for your loss!
upvoted+resteemed

Portugal has some of the best energy I've ever felt in a country. Maybe someday I will go live there. Thank you for listening to my story and supporting me!

yes! we are like that! we may be a poor country compared to the 1st world countries. but if you go to the rural parts, then the people are even more friendly! they will receive you as a family member! the fact of being a sunny country all year round, makes a huge difference in the mood of everyone! hope you can go there more often and enjoy a lot! thx for the heartwarming story! keep them coming :)

I'm sure you have some amazing memories to go with those beautiful photos

You're right :)

The first photo got my attention, but then I read the story. I'm sorry for your lost. It always comes so unexpectedly and always hurt. Be strong!

What a beautiful story, I'm sorry to hear about your aunt's passing without treatment. Everyone has their reasons, I suppose. These photos are definitely gorgeous and you did have a time that you can remember with her money. Those kind of gifts are Unforgettable, thank you for sharing.

Such nice writing! And the pictures are great. Now I have to visit! I've been to Spain, but not Portugal. I'd love to visit all of Hemingway's places some time.

Portugal is a magical place. A week was just brushing the surface of it. I'm so glad you liked my story and pics. It can be hard to get those kinds of intense emotions right. <3

Great post. I adore Portugal!!

Beautiful heart-wrenching story. I think it was a wonderful gift to you to motivate you to do something special with the money to honor your Aunt's memory. The trip looks lovely and you took such incredible photos. Thanks for sharing this experience with us.

Thank you for reading my story <3 The trip was indeed an amazing gift.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65845.60
ETH 3304.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69