You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The eight blind spots of humanity, and what we can do about them on steemit!

in #women6 years ago (edited)

Thank you for this. It does resonate with me, and also it's something I find myself saying a lot to men - "You don't know how it's like to be a woman, and I don't know how it's like to be a man. Let's share our experiences and listen to each other". I find a lot of time with men that they think they know how it's like to be a woman, and I don't see any curiosity from them to listen.
*by the way, I saw you wrote something as a reply to my last post, but I can't find it now..?. As for your question - I am a 46 years old woman. As for the other things you wrote - I think that was true in the past. Now days a lot of things changed. women and men are still very different but the roles are not as they used to be, and we need to adjust to it.

Sort:  

I haven't deleted any of my comments to your posts.

If you put on the glasses of the village / hunt metaphor (model), you will be able to see things in a new way and perhaps make some sense out of what currently is a mystery for you. For example, you might say, "Aha! Now I see why men are such poor listeners and have no curiosity!" (Men are what they need to be for the hunt and for the battlefield. Women are what they need to be for the village.)

I offer the village / hunt metaphor as an antidote to all of the confusion, lying, and propaganda that we are immersed in and deluged with today. The details have certainly changed; I don't carry a samurai sword and I don't chop off the heads of peasants who dare to refuse to bow in my presence. But the essential pattern of life has not changed. And the essential natures of man and woman have not changed.

I think that the main thing that needs to change is the selfishness of both men and women. Without selfishness, life patterned after the village / hunt metaphor could be much better than life is today, for women as well as for men. To envision progress, we must first ask, "What would work best for the children?", because that ultimately is the only accomplishment of the adults that matters.

Thank you for this, Again, I'm afraid, I don't share the same thoughts about it. I don't agree with the sentence - The essential pattern of life has not changed. It did, a lot. We no longer live in the village and we are not trying to survive, we are much more progressed than that. The essential nature of man and woman also changed - the same as any behaviour changes with evolution - we evolved and we keep evolving. Still men and women are different but the old roles you talking about are not here anymore. By the way - I also know some men who listen very well, and some women who don't know how to listen..

It is enough that we encounter one another and that you have accepted my presence in your life. Being influenced by diverse perspectives takes time, especially when the topic is a core belief such as we are discussing.

If you knew the details of the battles that I am fighting right now, I do not think that you would be able to retain your belief that we have evolved. The evil that exists (and that I will be able to prove) in our supposedly "evolved" society is utterly beyond your imagination. So I labor to complete the software that will enable me to finally tell that story.

Human being are evolving but still are not very high in the scale of evolution, as I mentioned before. Off course there is evil, I just don't call it evil, it's just a reflection of the current level of human beings consciousness.
Of course some more evolve than others, so you can't say that all human beings are evil or at the same level, but the direction human beings are going is getting better. This is looking at the bigger picture - the whole of human beings. You might encounter the worst of evils as you call it, but someone else might encounter the greatest of humanity - the giving and loving and supporting. There are terrible stories and there are amazing stories about people scarifying their lives for someone else. You have to be aware of both.
On a personal note, I am sorry that you are going through what you going and hope that you will be able to tell the story.

I don't see improvement. I see "dumbing down". I see the destruction of the family and of religion and of the other institutions that empower the people and hold the forces of tyranny in check. I see the destruction of sustainable human societies by a "plutocracy" that is gorging itself unsustainably while destroying the humanity that people are born with, turning them into "economic agents", into individuals who are as clueless as cattle in a slaughter pen and who are in a similar situation. I see dystopia and impending war, a global resource war, a war between selfish and unselfish people, between selfish and unselfish nations.

But then I see you, and I have hope again.

As for improvement - I would recommend a book by Yuval Noah Harari called - "A brief history of human kind". The book talks about exactly that - how things were so much worst in the past in so many ways - wars, amount of people dying form diseases, human rights (like slavery) and much more. The general idea is that things got much better than they use to. Also - in regards to family and religion, I don't share the same views as you at all - I saw a lot of examples in my life how institutions like religion and family ruin and abuse people in the name of them. A girl that has been raped by her dad for example, still need to respect him - because family is above all. War, you'll be surprised, today is much better than in the past. It's still bad but it was much worst.
Thank you for stating your last sentence - I really hope I can create more hope. That was touching. :-)

The touching was intentional. I am here to touch and to be touched.

If I appear to be one dimensional, it is because I am playing a role, both here and in my life. It is a role of exaggerated masculinity. It is intended and motivated by my personal desire to explore masculinity, my parental desire to demonstrate "good masculinity" for my (now adult) daughters, and my desire to speak to promote understanding in society of the critical role that gender plays in taking us either toward good or toward evil.

Women should not and need not fear good, strong men. The destruction of men is the stupidest thing feminists have done, for by destroying men they destroy the children, the society, and themselves. If women wonder, "Where have the good men gone?", they must look to themselves, for the moral development of any people is entrusted primarily to the womenfolk.

Thank you for answering, although I felt that you changed the subject we discussed.. it's ok though. In relates to what you wrote, please please watch this - he addresses exactly the issues of men and women -

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63