You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Handicraft Products By Women Empowerment Part - 12

in #women7 years ago (edited)

As I am mostly housebound due to illness I have been trying my hand at similar things. I love hand sewing. A machine does not sew with heart.
These are beautiful.
How much of the money goes to the artist? I know that an investment was made in products and a teacher. I am interested to know how much goes to the creator of the piece and how much into reinvesting in the projects continued success.
Steemit is a wonderful opportunity for equity too. I imagine $4 is a more than fair price locally, but on steemit these artists have an opportunity to ask for more. Market them as a community of artists who you are assisting with market exposure, skill development, resources etc. But this is beautiful work. Paying for these unique pieces isn't charity.
I would love to see the artist promoted with the product and empowered in the knowledge of their worth, equal to all other artists in this global community.
Maybe they might be shy about sharing there personal history. This is an opportunity to reframe who they believe they are themselves. Strong, skilled, proud providers for their family.
These pieces take so much time and investment. As you said they invest a piece of themselves in them. They weave their hope and love. Fears, dreams and heartache with every stitch.
Stick with hand made, if it is viable. It is authentic and turns a pillow case into a unique piece of art.
Are you posting the products internationally?
PS I have messaged you in steemchat

Sort:  

The shipping costs combine with the product was less than what a similar item would cost in the US.

Absolutely @tecnosgirl! I just private messaged @azizbd a search for similar items on Etsy. These are beautifully crafted and a tiny fraction of the cost.
A website specifically featuring these talented artists linked from an Etsy profile... Sorry @azizbd. I wrote a lot in steemchat. I love what you and @tecnosgirl are doing.
Big fan!

Thank you for the comment @girlbeforemirror

Nice to hear you are familiar with the handicraft products.

How much of the money goes to the artist?

I actually depends on trainers suggestions though I fee if I could pay more because of such hard work. I paid around $0.75 for each pillow cover. Trainer's suggestion for me was "They are still learning and work level on average so the amount is ok until we get order by making samples. " The pillow cover in the local market will be $2.5- $3.13 or sometimes more if branded shop who has large number of productions. The reward I paid them was not wages.

As I am investing on it since January, 2017 with the concept of social business. We got 2 orders from on online ever and it happened on steemit. I arranged a stall to sell the products and was not successful enough to sell much because of more than fair price I asked as I wanted to keep some part of profit for workers who made specific profit. Till now we have not sold any pillow cover though I paid workers and also investing for materials they need to learn and make samples. As it is social business concept to reinvesting profit and capital for expansion is my target and doing it whenever I get sell order.

Our first online sell

@Lindahas was suggesting me to make better ratio for workers, trainers and venture. The products I will make for sell will be like that 60-70% worker. and 30-40% for reinvest and trainer salary. I followed the ratio when I got order on steemit.

artist promoted with the product

It was my idea since beginning so people knows story of the workers. But I sometimes can't do what I think I should do. I will care the advice next time. I also want to share with buyer that how much worker getting from the sell and how much the organization are keeping for operation.

Yes, I did post internationally and my first ever online order was from abroad. But only problem is the fee of shipping. Small quantity goods has large fees. tough buyers was kind to pay high fee and also made donation for them.

Here is her post after getting shipment. Wish you will get cure from illness soon.

https://steemit.com/family/@tecnosgirl/baby-shower-then-gifts-from-bangladesh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33