Power of Love | A story of making a difference

History is full of strong women that made an impact on the world. The likes of Queen Elizabeth the First, Joan of Arc, Mother Teresa, Marie Curie and Amelia Earhart

The person that I will talk to is neither famous nor changed the world. She, however, changed mine.

Born from humble beginnings from a farmer father and a teacher mother. Her name derived from the literary character Anna Karenina.

She lived a simple life. She went to school in MaryKnoll (Miriam College now) in Baguio city. She had a white dog called Beauty, occasionally fought with her younger sister. Her cousins were her first best friends and were constantly singing, playing dress up and house. Such was the simple life of this girl.

maryknoll.jpg

She is the last girl on the bottom row on the right side



One of our earliest memory together was a crib covered in a blanket. A round head standing up beneath it and whack! she hit it with a plastic mallet toy thinking it was the younger sister but to her horror, it was me who cried. She said she never ran as fast as she did that day.

Fast forward a couple of years I was having my haircut by a local barber and she was teasing me. I suddenly reach out, Snip! blood begins to flow from a cut ear, I am too shocked by the pain to even cry out. She ran as fast as she can again.

We moved away from Baguio when mother got a teaching position down in Manila. She was now a full-fledged professor of English in International School of Manila. Her professional life was taking off and she became busier. The father was offered an administrative job in Jakarta and flew off. The house was mostly empty save for three kids and their nannies.

She taught me to read and from that moment I was in love with the written word. We spent days reading poetry and fiction. I remember when I was four years old she made me memorize the poems "The Raven" and "Annabel Lee" both by Edgar Allan Poe. In hindsight, it was pretty dark for a kid.

From Mother to Matriarch


Let me digress a bit here as I explain that our mother who was so busy with her career that the responsibility of raising her kids ultimately fell to my sister. We don't begrudge her on this because she had her priorities and that was to give her children a comfortable life.

Aside from being an English Professor she also went into Real Estate and forged her empire. During weekends and summer when she didn't have classes she would be out surveying land and building projects.

She became more strict and her favorite hobby during Sunday mornings was to start shouting at people for not being at the level of her standards. I remember my sister packing us all in a taxi and go to our favorite A&W restaurant and order footlongs and have root beer floats and play arcade games afterward.

We would go home late afternoon when the Matriarch has spent all her energy to a quiet house as she listens to her Frank Sinatra songs thinking of our father in a jungle in Jakarta.


The Decision



She graduated Cum Laude from the University of the Philippines with a degree in Mass Communication major in Film. She was invited to study abroad to hone her craft. She thought about the opportunities and experience she would get.

She looked at the two boys(my younger brother was around 2 years old at this time) who slept in her room and was playing with their action figures and toy cars. She then began to type her withdrawal from the program.

You see my sister always placed the needs of her family above her own desires and dreams. She always looked at those two boys and raising them to the best of her abilities. She never shirked away from the responsibilities thrust into her young shoulders. She openly accepted her role and have never thought that we were a burden.

She was there in all the milestones in our lives. Graduation from elementary, high school and even college. To my brother's eternal shame she was there when he got circumcised and lent her skirts. She was there when we are sick, she was there when we got into trouble as boys would normally do. She was present during the darkest times of my life and helped me get back.

Even when she had her own family she still looked after us. Giving counsel, financial support and, a loving home. Sunday brunch was the best times as we never lost the warmth of being family even in our busy lives. We would cook, bake and play board games just like what we did as kids.

saber border.JPG

I have often wondered what life would have been for us if she decided to come to New York. Would our lives be any different? Would have been stronger or weaker in terms of personality without her guidance? Would I be alive without her?

She is sister, mother, father, confidant, guardian, savior, boss at one point and friend. She is the entire reason why I am still here and I thank her for possessing the power of love for her family. We all turned out okay because she accepted us wholeheartedly and loved us for who we are flaws and all.

So thank you, sister, for being there always.


This entry is in support of the wonderful contest being done by @sfp-cebu ,a chapter of @steemitfamilyph

If you want to support and join this contest please click on the link below.

What It Means To Be A Woman - SFP-Cebu #WomanPower Writing Contest

SFL logo.png

I support @steemfreelancers

Centurion Mave.png

Sort:  

Can't relate much because I have no older sister but I have a good friend from high school whom I call big sister. Was thankful for having her because she guided me along the way. I wonder where she is now though

Nice entry by the way boss :D

Thanks man I hope I win hahahahhaha joke! no I am serious lol

Your older sister sounds just like my older sister... perhaps that is part of what makes us similar Mav.

"She became more strict and her favorite hobby during Sunday mornings was to start shouting at people for not being at the level of her standards."

Lol... absolutely.

Lol I don't miss those Sunday morning sermons. Didn't need to go to church to receive my weekly dose haha.

Yeah my sister is awesome. She helped shaped the person I am today.

Big sisters are awesome! I love my elder sister too, she is also strict, a real ate to us. But she has a soft heart. Ates are lovely and beautiful. They are really strong women. Salute to all elder sisters!🤗👌

Indeed salute! My eldest sister is pretty nice and not Strict at all.

I think she would let me get away with murder hahaha

This is so moving! She's a strong woman indeed! Thank you for sharing this to the community. I also have a story about my older sister and I'm going to share here soon. Sisters are angels and they are here to guide and protect us. God bless your sister for going through all of it and may God bless all the people who supports her too, including you!

Thank you she would love seeing your comment :)

I feel the same. My sister is 11 years older than me. Napagkakamalan nga akong anak daw nya dati. She is awesome too. We are very lucky to have sisters to look up to. Thanks for sharing.

lol omg mom at 11 years old hahhaa. Sisters are cool

Hahaha uu! She loves taking me out for strolls when I was wee small and she gets a lot of strange looks daw. She didn't mind though. She said she thought it was funny. Sisters are pretty cool indeed.

Wooow contest again.. 😍..great life story @maverickinvictus... You're so blessed to have ate like her. I wish I have one too.. 😁

This was a great share and I have to thank SFP-Cebu for bringing this.

Nice bro so very moving and motivational narin...salute to your sis...at sau nrin for giving her a great tribute

Thanks man I appreciate the comment

what a great sister you have @maverickinvictus! =) I''m sure yo are a great little bro too!

Lol I was a troublemaker hahaha together with my younger brother we got into all sorts of trouble hahhaa

Ah Mave, your sister is sooo cool.. ^^ She's a bright light into your family.

Oh indeed she is one of a kind and very special.

Congratulations @maverickinvictus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65844.70
ETH 3445.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68