International Women's Day

in #womanpower6 years ago (edited)

Many of you know that today is International Women's Day.



@beanz is giving away 39 (correct me if I'm wrong) Steem in her Celebrate International Women's Day Challenge. Also check out the video, because it's amazing.

The formats are:

  1. dLive video - 13 Steem
  2. Art - 13 Steem
  3. Writing - 13 Steem

... and the challenge is to address one or more of the following topics:

  • Self esteem and Media Objectification.
  • How I embrace womanhood / What it means to me to be a woman
  • Women in my life and how they inspire me.
  • The power of little girls.
  • Why feminism is important to me and what I hope to achieve from taking part in the conversation.

This is my written entry, but if I win anything, give it directly to women who don't have the good fortune to write about this stuff on Steemit. I'm willing to bet that every single one of us has a #metoo story or five. But I have felt the earth shift over the past few months. And it's about fucking time. I'm crying with joy and my heart is going to burst out of my chest. IT'S ABOUT FUCKING TIME!

Give it to this woman, who was one of the victims of @good-kama and the others running that phishing scam with the steemwit site lately. The LGBT community made a huge push last night to get her rep back up, but at least a dozen 100% upvotes later and her rep is still 0. Show her some love, please. I have scoured her account history and will stake my own reputation that she is sincere.


womens day 501.png

Steemit Poker League (@spl) is hosting the International Women's Day 100 SBD Free-Roll Tournament, sponsored by @ats-witness and @guiltyparties (THANK YOU!!!). @rawdawg is also adding a 1 SBD bonus buy-in with a 10 SBD prize for picking a winning NBA team against the spread in tonight's games.

I will personally add 5 SBD for the winner, 3 SBD for the runner-up, and 2 SBD for the second runner-up.

SPL is entirely funded by upvotes and donations, and is not affiliated with Stinc. Please show some love to @spl, @bigpchef, @tuck-fheman, and @bethalea for their tireless dedication to this thoroughly enjoyable project. Also, consider witness votes for @ats-witness and @guiltyparties, who both do so much for the Steemit community including sponsorship of this tournament specifically and SPL generally.

The tournament begins at 18:00 EST and is open to all, but be warned guys! There will be a bounty on all of the men (a bonus for knocking them out of the tournament, and I'm coming for you @kryptik lol) playing. You must be registered at https://www.lucksacks.com to play, which requires you are over 18 years of age and have a Steemit reputation of at least 35.


Finally, I will leave you with Frances McDormand's acceptance speech for winning Best Actress at the 2018 Academy Awards on Sunday night. There is really nothing I can say about it that will do it justice, so just watch:

If her speech doesn't feel like a momentous cultural shift to you, get the hell off my page.


step1.png
Steemit LGBT+ Discord


Contact me:

Signal, ProtonMail: ancapbarbie
Discord: ancapbarbie#0001
BTC: 1GK8QrebUrrHBWeSBRMh5uw6aYzxkHhF5e
ETH: 0x0750D25938D6aDbC08aa0E75c5781Cd3E5812167
LTC: LW81BkUjY52uJLUa5mjewQSPpkU8HZT7Fr

Sort:  

very good. very beautiful and entertaining

Happy International Women's Day
Respect for women is their biggest celebration, from a passing day of the year

Happy International Day mam...the post is great and the contest too is inviting...love to read some.

Congratulations to @libby-stories for an epic comeback! As promised, here is the transfer of 10 SBD to the top three finishers.

splpayout.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50