Winter of 1676

in #wolf8 years ago


  It was a month into the cold winter of 1676; the snow fell on tree tops and slowly made its way down the bark as small crystals beads. The ice shimmered in the sun light which only appeared for four hours each day. Once sunlight appeared, life in the forest became alive. The birds chirped and tried to find food and the deer’s and foxes found drinkable water in a nearby lake that’s ice was crushed during a tree that fell onto it.


 Today didn’t seem any different to the past 19 years of my life except for the piece of snow flaked that fell upon my cheek and caused to me shiver. I’m used to the cold; the ice; the long winters and hardly any sun. I’m used to the running fast in order to catch food for a meal that evening. As my father was dead, well that is what I was told and I never knew him and mum was ill. I was the eldest of four daughters of the Ulrich tribe, which means power of the wolf. Sure as if humans turned into wolves and roamed around at night to find their prey. The story our leader told us every five sunrises is about ancient wolfs always on a rally against a pack of shape shifter demons called the Vamps.   


Everything changed that winter of 1676, the day was the warmest I’ve ever experienced. I was able to extract my under layer of animal skins I put under my fur clothing, it kept in the heat and it was not needed. I was in the in the forest at first light and I was crouched down on all fours trying to make as little noise as possible to catch a female hare when everything went BLACK...  


Catch me next week for the follow up...

Sort:  

Intriguing - interested to read the follow up.

Congratulations @dreamer421! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dreamer421! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80