You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @ura-soul Witness Update #12 - Forking Hell! A Very Hard Fork to Chew On... I Aim To Start Testing Future Hard Forks Myself.

in #witnesss6 years ago (edited)

I am told that despite all the headaches, we should see normal activity return to the blockchain in the next few days and we will then be able to take stock and take steps to try to prevent these recent problems from reoccurring.

The order of operations here (and in your steps 1 through 4 above) are so terribly wrong.

(on second thought, I'm going to screenshot the steps below):

It has become very clear to me that we need more qualified software testers looking at the hard fork code before it goes live and this is partially the responsibility of the top 20 witnesses - WHICH IS WHY YOU NEED TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES THAT UNDERSTAND SOFTWARE/CODE!

Welcome to the realization of Steemit's circle-jerk. Sure, I'm being overly negative here, but it's clearly a systemic issue (pun intended).

You nailed it though, we need witnesses who are actually going to support the network, not just build dapps on it and push through untested code (or "accidentally" fork the network).

so far Steem's value has increased rather than dropping during this challenging period

This is the completely wrong perspective to be viewing the situation from. The Community was wronged, who cares about the "investors"? Without the community, the investors wouldn't even be here. Let's put value on the people and content first; and we'll worry about the SMTs and other "most advanced" blockchain offerings after the team figures out how to perform basic "blocking and tackling" first.

Sort:  

I am just recounting the experience from my own perspective as I went through it as a witness - what in particular is wrong about the points you copy/pasted?

The fact that there were so many failures ("bugs") with HF20 and it was still pushed out as fast as it was..

this comment has taken me over a day to post.. Gotta love this new HF20 RC system!! Maybe I'll be able to post more than once every 6 hours in a week from now?

.. my RC finally pumped to 100% .. 4 days after the HF ..

Oh, I see - I thought you were saying that I was wrong for putting the points down as I did.
On the more productive side, this is motivating me and others to take direct action as best we can now.

I find it difficult to believe that if nobody cared about QC (quality control) / UAT (user acceptance testing) when something as "groundbreaking" as HF20 / Velocity was being pushed out.. that anyone would really care about doing the proper due diligence for the next fork..

It's not like this was one mistake and a quick fix.. this was a series of mistakes, and the bugs seem to keep on coming =/

I'm hopeful, but I'm not going to be holding my breath..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57455.91
ETH 2919.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58