Do You Use steem.supply? If You Do Are You Remiss Like Me?

in #witnesses6 years ago

It is time to fix this.

Steem.supply is an app I use everyday. If you have not used it yet, you are missing out. This is an app that is designed to tell you roughly what you earnings will be over the next week.

To access it, simply type in steem.supply/@username.

Over the last few months, there have been a number of updates which only added to the features on the site. It is a very handy tool for anyone who is interested what is going on with his/her account.

This app was developed by @dragosroua. Unlike many developers on here, he is a regular poster who I follow. Over the last couple months, I upvoted and commented on a number of his posts. He usually puts up 3 or 4 good things a day.

Today, he posted about how steem.chat is changing hands and tied it to his own situation with steem.supply.

This is some of what he had to say:

... steem.supply became a service on which businesses built on top of Steemit are relying. Thousands of people are visiting it every day and are expecting it to work and to work accurately.

And, just like @riverhead' steemit.chat, steem.supply needs hardware, bandwidth, maintenance and improvements. All of them were provided as is by myself, in exchange of a witness vote. Which I always thanked for and felt a lot of gratitude when offered.

Full post:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@dragosroua/steemit-chat-changing-hands-and-a-milestone-in-the-steemit-witnesses-ecosystem

I can attest this to be true...@dragosroua always seems most generous and grateful from what I have seen.

Now I have a confession to make: I am one of the thousands of people visiting it every day yet I did not give a witness vote. Here is someone who developed and maintains an app I use and only asks for a witness vote in return. What is really sad is that it is not as if I used all 30 of my votes. Even after remedying this situation, I still have 21 left.

As the article states, there is a big difference in compensation with the top 21 witnesses and those who are lower on the scale. I am sure there are plenty of places to debate this so I will leave that alone. What I did want to bring up is this:

I'm well under the top 50 witnesses (not even dreaming to ever reach top 21) and I never complained.

This is very disheartening. Here is someone who has an app that thousands use daily and he cannot even come close to the Top 50 witnesses.

So this begs me to ask: are you like me, using his app yet not giving him the only thing he would appreciate in return...the thing he uses to fund the apps itself: a witness vote?

If so, it is time to correct the issue.

Go to:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Scroll down to where it says:

If you would like to vote for a witness outside of the top 50, enter the account name below to cast a vote.

Put dragosroua in the box next to the @ sign and hit vote. (you will need your active key to process the vote)

Let us see if we can get him a lot closer to the Top 50...he belongs there for this application alone.

Sort:  

Here is someone who has an app that thousands use daily and he cannot even come close to the Top 50 witnesses.

This is a big misconception about what it means to be a steem witness. Being a witness is not meant to be a way to fund development, and you shouldn't vote for witnesses because they made a site or service that you use.

A witness's job is to create the blocks and run the platform. You should vote for witnesses who show that they have a deep, deep understanding about how the platform works and can make the right decisions on adjusting platform parameters and accepting code changes to best ensure long term growth.

Very good points @yabapmatt.

Like many on here, I am also proud that you have my witness vote also.

I agree with you but those on the outside tend not to be able to decipher, hence having to go with the approach of who is active on here and contributing.

You should vote for witnesses who show that they have a deep, deep understanding about how the platform works and can make the right decisions on adjusting platform parameters and accepting code changes to best ensure long term growth.

Where are the rankings on this? How is the average poster on here going to have any idea who can do this?

I agree with @yabapmatt as well Task... people should always strive to vote for the witnesses they believe in.

If the work that @dragosroua has developed in Steem Supply - which I also use daily - grants you the trust you need to vote, then by all means do it.

It depends on your technical skill too... I'm sure @yabapmatt with his uber skills can detect other people's skills through their average post with much more ease than we both can, we are certainly not developers.

By the way, steem bot tracker is also good... all in all, I think without taking steemit into account, those two are the two platforms I use the most.

Where are the rankings on this? How is the average poster on here going to have any idea who can do this?

Yea that's a general problem with voting-based systems. How can the average citizen have any idea who can be a good president, senator, congressman, etc. Clearly they can't in the US at least!

Anyway I kinda wasn't in a great mood earlier today and I think I responded to this too quickly without really taking enough time to think it through. Really if someone is able to make a great site like steem.supply that's a pretty good indicator that they are quite knowledgeable about the system, and now that i have a clearer head i'm going to contradict myself and say that's actually not a bad reason to vote for someone as a witness, especially if you have no other information to go on.

Unfortunately the real reason that @dragosroua isn't in the top 50 witnesses has nothing to do with how many people use the site he created or his knowledge of the system. Since this is a stake-weighted voting system the top witness spots are mostly controlled by the small number of large whales on the platform. If the whales like you then you're in, otherwise you're out.

Luckily for the time being the top 20 witness spots are all filled by really good witnesses (in my opinion) who deserve to be where they are. I hope it stays that way as the platform grows and it doesn't just become a popularity contest.

Interesting. I myself have only used a few of my votes (one of which goes to you) because I see the amazing work people are doing on Steemit.

I'm new so my vote and opinion may not matter that much but I'm a little slow when it comes to all the tech. Maybe that will change down the road.

But for now, I'm using my votes for people who create things on Steemit that I use daily. I guess it's my way of supporting even if it's small. So thank you, from all the noobs that are still trying to find out feet :)

I know Steem Supply, but the one app in this category I couldn´t live without is steemworld.org
It gives me even more information on what is going on and works more intuitively for me - but it may just be a matter of taste.

Amazing top. Didn't know about it! Thanks

Added my vote, but I feel like the system is failing them and it really needs to be changed. I commented on this over on berniesanders most recent post that dealt with steem.chat This is a big area in which steemit should be improved upon. Perhaps even divided up a bit more. It seems unfair with such a massive system now that 21 people get a majority of the earners? There are CLEARLY more then 21 people devoting a ton of time, programming, skills etc into the system in which should be divided up more evenly.

I agree with you 1000% @bitcoinflood.

I think one of the biggest problems is few are aware it even exists. To start, most do not know about the witnesses nor do they cast their votes. Also, until that post, I didnt know there was such a huge difference in payments between the top 21 and the rest. Hell, I dont even know what the payment is for any of them (I guess I could search that out).

There is no doubt the STEEM blockchain has some issues that need addressing. This is part of the growth challenges we have.

But hey, at least we arent debating as to what the best way to speed up this blockchain is or how to handle all the back traffic.

It seems unfair with such a massive system now that 21 people get a majority of the earners?

The top witnesses in no way get the majority of the earnings on the platform. They earn what they earn because they have probably the most important job of all to do here which is to run the platform. It's a very difficult job to do well.

There are many ways for people who devote time and effort to the platform to earn much more money than they ever could being a witness, and that is great, but being a witness is not meant to fund development projects.

I am using the app and I did give him one of my witness votes several weeks ago. I love the app and I really love the fact that he remains so active in posting and interacting here on Steemit.

Dragosroua for Witness!

Gonna vote for him, the site is awesome, I need to vote for all my witnesses, I still have like half my votes left. It's tough to vote for people unless you get to see them in action and some of these apps that I know about I dojn't know who created them all the time or I don't think to vote.

I think that this is something that could use some more press, maybe even a category for witnesses to show off the work they are doing. Right now I don't know what half the top witnesses even do

I have been using this for months. Nice to have the payouts listed for the next week; helps me plan contests and their end dates for the winners.

I also use steemworld.org to keep track of my steem power percentage. Almost like a God-send

@dragosroua is my best witness, what he did with steem.supply is a blessing, i noticed his name was not on the list, i had to add his name into the slot. You guys are great

Yes @mistakili.

Since he isnt in the Top 50, had to add his name in the box there.

However the vote gets there, that is most important. LOL

your app is a great work and i BELIEVE you deserve a better position in the witnesses ranking

I diid not know about this before reading this
Thank you so much for informingand guiding
Keep it up
I wish you all the best
stay happy
GOD bless you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38