Witness is Completely Redownloading Steem Blockchain - Delayed Longer Than Expected.. But I'm Setting Up a Backup Server.

in #witness6 years ago (edited)

As mentioned yesterday, the Steem blockchain froze, causing Steemit inc. to put out an emergency fix/upgrade and all witnesses had to recover.

In about 50% of cases, the witness servers could recover quickly and in the other cases, they needed to reindex the blockchain. In some cases the reindexing failed too - this apparently occurs when the block file has been corrupted along the way. In my case, this has occurred - so what could have taken about a day (reindexing / replay) is now taking much longer.

The good news is that I have taken the opportunity to make improvements to the server and am in the process of renting and setting up a backup server to allow me to take further steps in the future to stop this happening. I intend to get to the bottom of why I was initially unable to use the Docker template that most witnesses are using, that allows them to respond to upgrades and faults much more quickly than I have been able to. So once this current reload is over, this should be the last time my witness server is offline for any significant time. Phew!

Wishing you well,

Ura Soul

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness

View My Witness Application Here


(Witnesses are the computer servers that run the Steem Blockchain.
Without witnesses there is no Steem, Steemit, DTube, Utopian or
Busy... You can really help Steem by making your 30 witness votes count!
Don't forget, there are more than the 50 witnesses you see on the witness voting page in steemit.com)


steem ocean - diving deep into the blockchain

Find out your voter rank position at steemocean.com!


ureka.org

I run a social network too!

Sort:  

Back up server?? Steemit is decentralized platform this means I can also set a server too

Steemit is decentralized platform

steem (blockchain) is decentralized, steemit (platform) is centralized

i think.

How can I mine steem

Thanks for keeping us less-than-tech-nerds in the loop. Understanding how steem works as it grows IS important. Appreciated.

Nice to know that you are now making improvement of your server and also setting a backup in your server in case of any further bugs or upgrades that might cause disruption to your server. I believe this is an opportunity to improve and enhance your server performance @ura-soul

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98