My (New) 2nd Witness Server is Alive and Kicking :)

in #witness6 years ago (edited)

I've hardly had any time to be on Steem at all in the last few days as I have been so focused into my healing process and working with a friend here to do the same. None the less, I have managed to get my 2nd Witness Server to go live and it is now crunching blocks like a champ!

Not only is the new server a match for the spec of my existing server (96GB RAM, 16 Core CPU) it is successfully running Docker, which would not work for me previously. This is a great boost for me as it makes managing the Steem Witness server far more simple - so I should be clocking up less missed blocks in future and experiencing much less downtime when it comes to upgrading. In fact, having two servers means that I probably won't have any downtime at all when upgrades need to be run. Result!

Along with this great news, we also have the news that v.0.19.10 of the Steem software is available and includes numerous significant architectural changes that result in performance gains for witness nodes (and other nodes). The short translation of this is that servers now need a few less GBs of RAM to function - which potentially means lower running costs for witnesses and the ability to support more users on Steem with less resources.

I will be upgrading my new server to run v.0.19.10 in the coming few days and if all is well with it I will switch over to use the new version as my main production machine. Once that is done I will then upgrade the original server and find out once and for all why I couldn't get docker to run on it and then get that installed too..

The end result should be that I have a rock solid Witness server setup that is future proof and able to compete with the top 20 witnesses. :)

Wishing you well,

Ura Soul

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness

View My Witness Application Here


(Witnesses are the computer servers that run the Steem Blockchain.
Without witnesses there is no Steem, Steemit, DTube, Utopian or
Busy... You can really help Steem by making your 30 witness votes count!
Don't forget, there are more than the 50 witnesses you see on the witness voting page in steemit.com)


steem ocean - diving deep into the blockchain

Find out your voter rank position at steemocean.com!


ureka.org

I run a social network too!

Sort:  

I am really pleased to read this, I know from following your previous posts and interactions the negative vests shutdown two weeks ago caught you when your own health was not great and you had many problems getting your server back online - credit to you that you managed it without too much downtime even though you had everything against you.

It is a big commitment as a Witness to add in a Backup server, you already had my vote because you have shown many times how knowledgeable you are and I was really impressed out much research you did into GDPR regarding Witness servers.

Good luck moving forward, I think you are exactly what Steemit and Steem needs to promote and move this platform forward.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thankyou very much for your kind words of support. Yes, the timing of that could definitely have been better - but ultimately it motivated me to improve the situation, so overall it was a useful learning experience. ;)

I just voted for you and @enginewitty as witnesses - injoy!

Interesting news about the server specs required to be a witness. Good news about docker. Loved the Zebra upgrade !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79