You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bid bots aren't the devil and neither are Linear Rewards

in #witness6 years ago (edited)

neither are Linear Rewards

We'll agree to disagree on this one for the time being and hopefully at some point one of us will change its stance and we'll find agreement again.

I've highlighted why linear reward is an inferior system to n^2 curve in that comment below but I plan on making it a lot more obvious through some up coming post.

Take care my friend!

https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitblog/steemit-winter-update-2017-reflection-our-vision-statement-and-mission-and-a-look-forward#@teamsteem/re-steemitblog-steemit-winter-update-2017-reflection-our-vision-statement-and-mission-and-a-look-forward-20180221t053905349z

Sort:  

I tracked this down thanks. All this time we have been wondering how to stop the self voting, while Dan originally already thought of that. I never thought of self voting until today, and I realised (even now) I could make quite a lot by doing so.

I will keep an open mind on both ways methods for now. Looking forward to your post.

Just to be clear I think N^2 is generally better, but not with the current distribution of Steem. If we had a more standard bell curve for steem distribution then I think N^2 would be better. Right now it's a hocky stick, and a hockey stick squared doesn't work for curation.

Just to be clear I think N^2 is generally better, but not with the current distribution of Steem.

Glad to know that, although I disagree with the second part of your statement.

I hope we can get to some understanding.

Giving away free Steem is devaluating the whole platform.

How is giving away free Steem better than letting stakeholders sell their Steem to market price?

There are people ready to buy those Steem, how does giving them away make them anything else than less valuable?

In a world with honest people who don't vote on themselves to get "free money for nothing", a simple linear curve, aka n would produce a 1 share 1 vote proportional payout. @steemitblog - (link)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79