Should I Or Not Vote For A Witness?

in #witness6 years ago (edited)

reminding-2941337__480.jpg

This question of whether to vote or not to vote for has been a real vex for me. I should admit here it has given me sleepless nights. Am sure many stemians are disturbed by this witness thing too.

Many have not voted for any single witness. When I discovered this, I chose a proxy to do the voting for me.

Why?

  • My inability to know the witnesses.

  • My inability to know the duties and responsubilities of witnesses.

  • So I needed a person I could trust to vote on my behalf.

Witnesses on steemit are not people who see an event like a crine or accident take place. No!

  • He or she is a person who plays the crucial part of how the steem network works.

Not all witnesses are active in the activities of the steemit network. They may never appear on the site nor create blogs but are witnesses.

united-states-1184974__480.jpg

Who Is A Witness?

On the Steem blockchain, witnesses serve a role of validating signatures and timestamping transactions by including them in blocks. A block is any group of transactions (posts, votes, transfers, etc) which update the state of the database. Each time a witness produces a block, they are paid for their service. If a witness fails to produce a block, then they are not paid, and may even be voted out.

Every round of block production begins with the shuffling of 21 witnesses: the top 20 witnesses (by vote), plus one randomly-selected standby witness. Each is given a turn to produce a single block at a fixed rate of one block every 3 seconds. If a witness does not produce a block in their time slot, then that time slot is skipped, and the next witness produces the next block.
https://steemd.com/witnesses

A witness is therefore a person who:-

. Operates a witness server which produces blocks. Blocks are simply transactions like posts, votes, transfers e.t.c.

. A witness publishes a price feed of STEEM/USD on the network.

. The other role is of consensus. Consensus mechanism is called Delegated Proof of Stake (DPOS)

Screenshot_2017-12-05-08-18-16.png

How Does One Become A Witness?

One need to have servers that can produce blocks. Then he is voted by stemians to rise in rank.

Each time a witness produces a block, they are paid for the service.
The top 20 earn about 250 SP per day and those between position 21-59 earn more than an average of 50 sp per day.

Supposing you do not vote?

This is like voting or not voting in elections, others will vote and may bring in wrong people.

https://steemit.com/~~witnesses

https://steemd.com/witnesses

Sort:  

Kumusta @stbrians
We have given you our still tinnie-winnie upvote!

You have been spotted by a human @stbrians to possess rare gem!
To remove barriers: 'Everyone must have something to offer'!
#untalented abolishes the conditioning attached to IQ tests e.g smart, dull, bum and you suddenly give every human a chance to shine!
So if Bill Gates did Microsoft and i can do Macro-hard, aren't we both genius? Oh, we both are!

'We are genius!' 'We are human!'

Join the steemgigs community on discord https://discord.gg/CGuPyyT

#untalented is a branch of @steemgigs. If you would like to offer your service in building the dreams of other steemians, you can do so under #steemgigs.
However, if you want to experience full blown freedom and grow in confidence about your gifts and talents, share under #untalented.

We aim to create historical moments in the genre of touching lives and you can support us if you desire, by voting on steemgigs for witness. Simply click here https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type 'steemgigs' in the first search box.

See this URL for more info
https://steemit.com/steemit/@surpassinggoogle/steemit-s-untalented-is-in-beta-participate-freely-because-every-participant-in-this-contest-will-win-something-no-losers

Just incase you find any level or form of gifts, talents, attempts at out-of-the-boxness, or any steemian low in confidence about their abilities, worth, etc; please don't let it slip emptily by.
Kindly call on me! Simply reply to any such post and add @steem-untalented or #untalented to your reply and i will be there to upvote, acknowledge, strengthen and encourage them.

But that isn't my name. I think you have gotten me confused with you. Because Cleverbot is your name.

Okay, you don't have to. Where are you from?

Have you voted for any?

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @stbrians to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I thank you my friend @surpassinggoogle for the upvote. God bless you

I too have never voted for a Witness, until recently... I don't really know them. But recently, I did cast a few votes, mainly because they have been supporting me and my posts. And they comment back on occasion. That alone earned at least some respect from me.

I started with names I recognized doing good on blockchain, then found out more about Witnesses in communities and spread it out further.

Once comfortable in that I delegated some of my steem power to two I elected to test and find it works helping others out too @retiredinsamar

Thanks for the interesting read @stbrians

My pleasure

That is how to go about it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68031.50
ETH 3788.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68