Question for all my followers...

in #witness6 years ago (edited)

Hey Again Steemitizens!

This is me in my element, on the air on SteemStar Network talking to steemitizens and witnesses and community leaders every Sunday. It's the highlight of my otherwise task and treachery filled weeks spent soloing my life and living it sleepless on Steem.

Today, I'd like to take a moment and ask you all a pretty straight forward question...

If over 1800 of you follow me and assuming a good number are probably "dead" or "dormant" followers who are no longer active on steemit or are bots and such, that still leaves a pretty large number of you who are actually "out there."

SoI have 1822 followers but when I look at my witness vote count, I see that I only have 295 voters.

This means that all of this is true:

I have:

1822 followers total

600 are apparently "dead" (no post or vote within a month)- http://steemit.deadfollowers.info/ seems to be inoperable so i'm using the last times I checked as an assumption here, running an average of about 30% dead over the past few months.

So, I really have:

1200 Approximate Active Followers

295 Witness voters


Which means about 900 of you are not voting for my witness.

So let me ask you, why? What can I do to win your witness votes?

Is the charity work we do with your help via @YouAreHOPE for orphans, sick, homeless and weather emergency affected people by the hundreds in 7 countries now, not enough? Could we be doing more, differently, better?

Is the @SteemStarNetwork not serving content you want to consume? (Though we are grateful to the many of you who DO join us for the shows!) Could we improve it to serve your streaming media interests better?

Do you have issue with my witness position on various topics around the ecosystem?

Have I let you down by being a less than steller contributor at times, especially in the communities I live in on discord, which I find so dear and important, but take so much of my time, I never give enough time to each of them individually? (I am in about 35 and that's low by comparison to some of my peers, I don't know how you all do it including our DM loads from random strangers begging us for stuff all the time - @crimsonclad, @shadowspub, @topkpop, @bearone, we are all looking at you here.)

Just don't like me? That's cool, I got people I definitely don't like. If you don't have haters, you ain't even playing.

Can we talk about it? Work it out? Win you over?

I'll be honest, things have felt a little stagnant lately, and our projects, communities, and my witness need a little encouragement, as at times, it begins to feel a little futile, like it so often does for the minnows we defend and support as we run these missions like the charity to feed the poorest and the radio to give voices to the stronger ones who have made it at least to steem and this far already.

Hats off to all of you who have become the focus of my life and attention and passion, via steem, and the blockchain we share here. I am at your disposal today to discuss any of this. I'm @SirCork in discord and steemit.chat as well.

Empowering my witness will fuel my ability to maximize the charity work, and focus on the existing projects I operate as well as many others I would like to be able to do, given the time and funding an elevated witness position would allow for. So please consider what I've demonstrated in the thousands of hours I've invested here over the past 8 months and let's help me do moarrrr of it for you and the neediest people on Earth beyond our beloved platform here.

Yes, I am basically asking for your vote, or in lieu of that, a fair conversation about why. Ideally, right here in the comments, kind or critical, as I don't mind airing any of this for all to see. If I'm wrong fine, but if you come at me falsely, well, I'd like to see that right here in clear air too.

Here I am. Hit me, hit me hard.

Please, and thank you!


[edit/addition]

@nnnarvaez has informed me of the following:

https://steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=sircork&approve=1

And it will ask user and active key and cast the vote in a secure and easy way.

So if you are ready to vote and want it one-click easy, this will do the trick. Thanks Nathan!


Yours in service,
@SirCork
Founder @YouAreHOPE - worlds first steem exclusive, block chain transparent worldwide humanitarian aid organization
Founder @SteemStarNetwork - the 24/7 stream at the center of the steemiverse by steemitizens for steemitizens
Your dedicated, charitable, platform passionate Steem Witness

Sort:  

I like your work, I'm just beginning to follow you, but maybe you need to change the strategy to reach more effective followers and fewer bots. Hook your followers with a little more call to action, I think the question for you here is, How would you involve your followers more in your work? so that they stop being witnesses and start begin the protagonists.

P.D: excuse my English!

Regards

I understood you, and with that outlook you will do well here. Thank you for commenting and your suggestions, good for all to take note of, and good luck in your journey here. ;)

By the way, in the area that you work, I think that you are not taking full advantage of the storytelling behind each project you do, I have volunteered in several ONGs in my country and I know that what connects you with this wonderful work, are those stories that thrill and inspire us

I'm working on coaching the Agents of HOPE in that area all the time, as I know for sure it's the story that tells the tale. For most of them, they are translating their field reports into English of course and the native language posts are much more on point in this regard, but I cannot read them. :D I have been keeping my eyes out for folks who are more aware of how the very real business of marketing charitable concerns for transparency and donor encouragement works but for now, I am one man swimming upstream mostly on his own in terms of management here. I am a career team builder, and it is my best real skill actually, however, finding the right people for this effort has been my biggest challenge yet in a 30 year career of mostly management roles.

You're doing it right!! Here you have a friend and a collaborator in case you need help with your Spanish (hahaha), anyway I would like to contribute with you in the future, every bit counts.

Regards!

Thanks! We do have a few Spanish speaking folks involved already for sure, but more are always welcome!

Certainly you deserve a witness vote, YouAreHOPE is a very good project. I keep seeing your resteems under this project.

Voted you for witness Sir. I will also make sure, I spread the words to get you more witness votes.

Thank you sanmi - I have often noticed around the place and always loved your profile icon ;)

Alas 🙏, its a privilege to be noticed by you Sir.

Ha,I think you've probably been here longer or as long as me :D

You are doing fine and really don't know how much more one could be expected to do! It is great that you have put this post out to your followers though explaining the importance of witness voting.

My name is Sargento, and I approve this message!

Have a great week bud and stay safe during your trip (and get a heavier coat for godsake! lol)

Oops, witness voting to the rescue.
I've actually not fully understood the witness everything, but I'm learning more about them. And yay, I've voted you as one of my first 10 witnesses.

Still looking for advice on how the witness voting works.

Keep the great work going sir, you're doing a really great job, glad to have met you in the Discord channel. Cheers

Well thank you kindly! You can look at who I vote for, to find some real gems!

Haha well thanks for the mention. If y'all aren't voting his witness I do definitely recommend it (and I already do I might add), I mean come on this guy is literally helping people all over the world through YAH, that alone is enough of a reason to vote his witness. I also have to say I like that you ask for input and reasons if people think you aren't doing enough.

Thank you @topkpop, very kind of you.

Sometimes, life is just what it is. They some times leave the good people unnoticed because natural the minds of humans are filled with wickedness. I am very greatful for the support shown to the little project i want to do for the less privileged kids @youarehope gave me joy and i just voted as my witness and if you have your crew of witnesses, never fail to name them here so that incan vote for them too. Thank you for being kind and generous, the sjy shall be your starting point.

Looking at the witnesses I choose to vote for will take you to the hardest working people on the platform in various ways and means that they each bring their unique assets and talents to. Thank and you good luck with the kids. We are happy to be able to help with @YouAreHOPE.

I just double checked, and yep, i already got you on my Witness votes after hearing about YAH awhile back.

I have to wonder if the problem has more to do with the fact that Witness voting is one of the lesser understood and obscure aspects of the STEEM blockchain, and not so much that people are not voting for you based on policy. I must admit, i still do not understand the finer points of witness voting, just the basics.

It's one of those things that is so inconsequential to being able to use the platform and so often ignored by the larger community that new users have VERY little that pushes them to actually learn about the different witnesses, their projects, and their policies.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on that.

That's a whole post on it's own to be certain. And one that many witnesses and users alike have repeatedly made, but perhaps it bears more of the same :)

Witnesses are critical to the whole thing even existing, and as users mature they tend to figure that bit out, then dig in a little deeper, usually their 50ish rep levels they begin to understand enough to make solid and aware witness decisions and to be honest, before that, their votes are pretty unpowerful anyway, usually, though they still add up and lend a voice of support to the witnesses they prefer.

It's a simple and complex topic all at the same time.

You know I've been proxying your witness vote for some months now, so if you're not voting for yourself, I can't help :P

What a cl0wn. :)

I had you as one of my votes,but aggroed is my proxy,which means being voted thru msp.
let me know if I am not voting for you. we will remedy.
you are doing a great job!
sorry I do not get into chat more often.. my bad.
;-)

Yeah, I really don't think that anything he controls or msp is responsible for touches much of anything I do, just sayin'.

fixed.

Thank you Jesse, you are a true friend.

Hey @sircork, I just made my very first witness vote ... guess who?
I love your post, didn’t need any convincing though, just a reminder!
I had you on my scope the whole time, just wanted to get more familiarized with Steemit & check you out!
My vote for you is well given! Thank you for being you & all you do ✌️❤️✊️🎶
Huggins & Nuggins 😘

Aww shucks, thanks! I am glad to be your first ;) :*

Ahahaha, you are very welcome ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97