Why I decided not to be witness for now

in #witness7 years ago (edited)

steemimage1.png

My Background

I am a linux developer slowly getting into block chains.So I decided to look at steem block chain,got the code from github and I made a local build and trying to grasp things.Figured it would be a good idea to become a witness.

witness.jpg

My witness setup

Got two vps server and setup witness and seed nodes.Basically used Jckernal's guide https://steemit.com/witness-category/@krnel/complete-witness-installation-guide.Got into few issues, but I was able to solve them!!! Tested update witness over cli_wallet command interface and was ready to go!!

Bottleneck

Decided not to go live yet!!!
Being a witness, you are responsible as a hosting provider regardless if you use a VPS service or host your own.So technically in US,you could be responsible for any content distributed to public from your hosting server.

I was relieved to find that pictures and videos are in third party sever but tagged in the block chain.Block chain is immutable and everything will be stored and cannot be deleted.Steem block chain can be viewed using as many tools as you wish like steemd.com and others
I did find some old posts regarding the issue

https://busy.org/steemit/@shenanigator/thanks-to-your-help-the-official-steemit-faq-is-now-complete-part-2
why filtering atleast on steemit was introduced
and
https://steemit.com/steemit/@someguy123/understeem-steemit-without-censorship-nsfw-filter-removed-via-tor
discussing why it shouldnt be that way

I still couldn't find a clear explanation on the legal responsibilities of witness in addition to supporting block chain.So until I get a clear picture, I thought it would be better for me to spend time on developing the cool application we have planned on top of steem block chain . I am sure as steem ecosystem grows further there will be much more clarity regarding these topics

Sort:  

It appears you didn't seek answers outside the confines of your developer community

Did you come across any article addressing these issues ? I haven't and its true across different block chain.I have seen people discussing it in reddit forums but not conclusive answers.It could very well be that the whole block chain is contradictory to the existing regulatory system, but still we have to work within the existing framework

Good afternoon, I upvoted and became a follower. This post shows that you are a responsible individual. You will make a great witness once you feel you have the necessary information. Keep up the great work!!!

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

@sanees got you a $1.87 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@sanees got you a $1.87 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60385.18
ETH 2658.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47