Running a steem witness node from home?

in #witness7 years ago

Previously, I talked about my intention to become a witness. I quickly discovered that paying a hosting service for a virtual private server (VPS) was going to cost anywhere from $50 to about $270 per month.

That's okay for some people, but not for me: I've got two kids in college and a leaky old roof that needs significant repairs. On the other hand, I've got a small amount Ethereum. My wife has granted me use of this crypto "funny-money" for personal projects.

A word about the economics of this operation: I've been shopping around for a computer server to set up as a witness. In true Marxian fashion, I've decided it is better to spend my limited capital to own the means of production than to pay someone else for access to their equipment. Then, if I have a surplus, I can lease it to others to help cover the operating costs and possibly make a modest profit.

Now, we all know there's no shortage of competition in this area. How can a small minnow like me swim in the same waters as giants like AWS and Azure. Well, in a sense I'm not competing with them. My primary purpose is to operate as a witness and grow my participation in steemit and steem. My secondary purpose is to reduce my expenses. This means I'm going to operate the server from my home. I've researched and overcome a number of questions/problems. Here they are.

Running a Server from Home FAQ

Can I use my home internet service? Yes. I pay a large monthly fee for high bandwidth internet access. I checked the rules, as a result of US government legislation, my service can't cap my total data consumption or charge extra for it.

Does running a witness consume a lot of bandwidth? No. Anecdotally, from listening to videos about mining bitcoin, it sounds like running a single node doesn't require much bandwidth.

Home internet service doesn't provide a static IP: Can a node work without a static IP? I'm not sure yet. However, there are services like noip.com and others who offer an inexpensive static IP address as a service.

Aren't servers more expensive than desktop computers? Surprisingly, no! I've discovered I can buy a powerful completely refurbished server with a guarantee, like a Dell PowerEdge R710 from http://stores.ebay.com/SaveMyServer for under a $200. By comparison, there's someone on my local craigslist who is selling a desktop computer with inferior specs for more than that.

What about power costs? Yeah. I'm not so sure about that. The worst case scenario I came up with was about $800/year, which I could manage.

What about electrical outages? That's definitely a problem where I live. I'm not sure what the impact might be on the rating of the witness node (missed blocks). It's very likely that an uncontrolled outage would damage the software and hardware. To address that, I'll definitely need an APC-UPS that triggers an orderly shutdown before it runs out of power.

I welcome your thoughts and comments.

s-l1600.jpg

Sort:  

@remind.bot 4 hours

Finally, what did you decide to do @oropeso?

Mentioning and replying to you here on Wed, 18 Apr 2018 19:35:31 GMT to remind you of this post.
Please consider upvoting this comment to keep this service running.

Reminding @amico of this post as requested!
Please consider upvoting this comment to keep this service running.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by omboso from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks! I used the link you provided to delegate 50SP (steempower) to the project and signed up to become a member (which involved configuring steemvoter to vote for minnowsupport on my behalf). However, I quickly ran into problems with steemit blocking all of my actions (no posting, commenting, following) because I had exhausted my SP budget! I couldn't even power up because my wallet was blocked, too. Fortunately, one of your mods temporarily delegated enough SP to me that I could get things straightened out. Here's the thing, as a minnow, I didn't understand that this could happen. I wish there was some indicator to warn you when you get into a dangerously low situation like this. There are so many foggy areas and sharp edges in how steem/steemit works. I look to you and trust you for advice. While it makes a lot of sense for you to ask for support, it is probably not such a good idea to ask fresh minnows like me, with low low SP, " to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links." Maybe there's some way to warn off newbs from over delegating when they don't have enough SP. Maybe there's some way to allow people to delegate a % of their total SP instead of a fixed amount. Anyway. Thanks for all of your help and I hope we continue finding ways to make steemit a better experience for new users!

What is Witness? @oropeso
Ok... Looks like you've found something. But I want to know more..

For a great source of information about steem witnesses, visit @aggroed

I just went an looked at your blog. You should write some posts!

Ah! So the steem blockchain, like many blockchains, requires computers to confirm and record changes to the blockchain. A witness node performs that computation. A witness is also a person who oversees that process. With steem, I believe posts you make here, upvotes, comments and so on are written into the blockchain. For more information, see https://steem.io/SteemWhitePaper.pdf or search steemit for "steem witness"

Great. Got it. I'm going to post some cotent in my blog.

Please post original content created by YOU. Not copied content.

Hi there, @oropeso any updates on your journey to Witness Steemit?

I would appreciate to hear about that,

Thanks a lot! See you around.

b.b.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61861.45
ETH 2995.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48