You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ladies of Steemit, Volume 6 | Can I Get a Witness?

in #witness6 years ago

I so wish I had the hardware to pull this off!

Do you have a source or any further information about the 2 women who are witnesses? I ask because I just published this post yesterday about the gender imbalance on this site and the myth that women somehow have an advantage here, and that would be a great statistic to put in there.

Sort:  

Come to discord. Patrice is on steemsugars and crimmy is everywhere lol

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

what is steemsugars? I'm only the steemcleaners and minnowsupport chats?

Hey Mallory, click through the links in their feature above. I've featured their profiles, their witness application, and their most recent post (witness related or otherwise). Beyond that, definitely head to the #TeamGirlPowa + #SteemSugars discords to chat them up!

Sorry, the way I phrased that was confusing. I did see their profiles and check them out--I just meant how we know that only 2 are female, if there was a study, did someone go through and manually check profiles, etc. When I did my study looking at follower and posting rewards counts I had to manually go through and check profiles one by one so I'm wondering if someone else has already done that work.

Yes, in short - I checked every single witness profile for possible gender identification. I also spoke with trusted sources and a couple witnesses who are familiar with the community to triple-check that the two I identified were legit + the only two.

@limabeing has a point, that hiding your identity for any number of reasons would take you out of consideration for Ladies of Steemit, simply because I don't know you're a lady. And, I'd never want to "expose" someone whose gender is their business.

Also, I forgot to say it sooner--THANK YOU for this awesome post! I hope you find some witnesses to help turn the tide.

Yeah thats why we always say "self identified" .we always meant to do that work but its very time consuming.. i bow to your dedication. Trutch be told i have my suspicion that one witness is afab but they present male and dont say otherwise so that doesnt count imo. It is possible that a witness is hiding their gender in order to aqcuire an bit of make privilige through the default assumption that if they dont present female, they are male. But all of that still highlights the fact that even on our great freedom steemit, we have male privilege in thd power seat. Of course there are female identifies whales that have sway and $$$ power.. was planning on making a survey but ffs too much work .. not enough time.

Thanks girl. Think about it yourself! There's a link in this post that gives a detail roadmap to becoming a witness.

I definitely am but its not gonna be for a year or so. It will be a team but i wanna get the hardware and do it myself rather than renting the server...

Actually, don't need hardware...

Is there a way to do it without already having hardware in which I could at least break even (if not make a profit), though?

Might take you a little while to start breaking even but yes, there is a way without housing your own equipment. Find me on discord and we can chat more. Same name over there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57396.91
ETH 2446.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41