Top 100 Steem Witnesses by Number of Votes!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #witness7 years ago (edited)

If we each had equal voting power, what would the top list of witnesses from steemit.com/~witnesses look like? Currently witnesses are ranked by the votes based on how much Steem Power every voter has. This means a witness vote from an account with 1,000 Steem Power is worth 1,000 votes from accounts with 1 Steem Power! That said, every single vote is VERY IMPORTANT because those with more Steem Power are influenced by votes from those with less!

Will we vote at https://steemit.com/~witnesses because we feel most included in the community after voting?

Wait what is a witness?

Witnesses are among the most powerful users in our community! Witnesses build the blockchain for Steem processing all transactions and creating all new Steem along with deciding on which updates to apply and more. Will you read the full guide I made at https://steemit.com/witness-category/@jerrybanfield/steem-witness-basic-training because it explains what a witness is in more detail and has exact steps to get started as one?

Top 100 Steem Witnesses


View the list of the top 100 witness list at https://steemd.com/witnesses.


Where can we find the number of votes for each witness?


We can find the number of votes by going to this site: https://steemdb.com/@jerrybanfield/witness and switching out any username in place of mine! For example, https://steemdb.com/@jesta/witness.

These are the stats for my own account and you can see on the "Votes Received" tab that I have 331 votes which I am very grateful for within just the first month of becoming a witness!

To calculate by the number of votes, I made the system shown here and collaborated with @gmichelbkk to make the entire list!

Top 100 Steem Witnesses by Number of Votes


This table shows the rank of each witness by number of votes for the top 100 witnesses.

My witness account is actually ranked 61, but it would be ranked 55 by number of votes, which is a difference of -6.

Thank you very much for reading this post and learning more about witnesses here on Steem! Would you please vote for witnesses today at https://steemit.com/~witnesses because our witness votes pay out over two million dollars a year with nearly all of that going to the top 20 witnesses? Each of our votes is critical in deciding our future here based on our choices for witness who have the power to accept or reject updates, reach the Steemit team more effectively, and make influential upvotes with the Steem Power earned!

Love,

Jerry Banfield with research and edits by @gmichelbkk

Sort:  

The system with witnesses seems at a so much higher level in comparison with the bitcoin mining; it's like the transition from the horse to the car from the technical point of view...

You are doing exceptionally well at no.55 , you will reach top 30 very soon.. Good luck!

@hms818 thank you very much I just realized you are a witness too and gave you my last upvote!

Hi Jerry, you've got my Witness vote for this post.

We have been debating in the Homesteaders Slack group the last couple of days whether witness votes were SP weighted or not.

Your post clears that up for us. Thank you.

Although most of us were hoping it wouldn't be SP weighted.

Buy more steempower I guess... 😉

PS You the link wrong in the first mention of @gmichelbkk in your post. You have missed the second k on both - but the second link is okay.

PPS Can we see the full spreadsheet you made with @gmichelbkk of the difference between total votes v weighted votes for the witness list? (shown at the top of your post)

Am I missing the link in the article somewhere? It is teatime so I am bit hazy at the moment 😎

Thank you very much @pennsif for helping me fix that!

@pennsif thank you for helping me edit the post and learn how it was useful for you! Thank you for voting for me as a witness at https://steemit.com/~witnesses

You're welcome. Anytime you need help with editing let me know 😊

Thanks for getting the spreadsheet in there - very interesting.

What if we start following each other liking and commenting so we all start making money toghether!?

I am already following you ... Ya te estoy siguiendo

that could be the good one ,must make on it

can anyone finally tell me what does witness mean... i googled but didnot find anything related to steem. what are they doing?

Sure! In summary, witnesses are among the most powerful users in our community! Witnesses build the blockchain for Steem processing all transactions and creating all new Steem along with deciding on which updates to apply and more. Will you read the full guide I made at https://steemit.com/witness-category/@jerrybanfield/steem-witness-basic-training because it explains what a witness is in more detail and has exact steps to get started as one!

Thanks @jerrybanfield for clarifying, and great article.

thank you, was clear. i will read article of course :)

What if we start following each other liking and commenting so we all start making money toghether!?

Over one month on steemit, still dont know the know the roles of Witness on steemit... Or how to vote.

Evelyn same here it took me a month to start learning anything about the witness here! Sure! In summary, witnesses are among the most powerful users in our community! Witnesses build the blockchain for Steem processing all transactions and creating all new Steem along with deciding on which updates to apply and more. Will you read the full guide I made at https://steemit.com/witness-category/@jerrybanfield/steem-witness-basic-training because it explains what a witness is in more detail and has exact steps to get started as one!

Run as you may! You cannot escape...the Almighty Bunghole!

What if we start following each other liking and commenting so we all start making money toghether!?

I remember I have voted for @gtg @good-karma @jesta

Aftab I voted for each of them as well! Would you consider adding me to your existing votes also because I would appreciate it?

Sure @jerrybanfield, you are the one whom I saw on facebook and joined Steemit. You are the one adding value to Steemit, for sure you will be voted and supported in every field by me dude :)

Voted you dude :)

We can vote just one time to one witness in our 30 votes?
Tell if we can vote more I will vote you more :D

Opps I nearly pasted my Account password, pheww thank God I didnt :D

Well I want to share some ideas too.

Maximum of the Steemians do not know about it at all, and I know maximum of them are just newbies or the ones not active. Steemit should remove their voting power who is not active, and also give voting power to those who participate in the community actively, and voting power should be given to those who has at least 500 followers and active.

Very interesting how the witness voting works! Thanks for sharing @jerrybanfield you have my vote! I will make sure to vote again :)

Sincerely,
@joeparys

Superb....keep posting nice comments like this.

Joe thank you for voting for me as a witness! The best part about witness voting is that doing it once lasts indefinitely!

What if we start following each other liking and commenting so we all start making money toghether!?

@jerrybanfield ...Absolutely Informative post. You have a great command and understanding of Steem Stats. Most importantly the way you put them across for the presentation, make them more interesting to read. I believe witnesses too have a crucial role to play in making steemit a better community with each passing day.
Cheers!!!

What if we start following each other liking and commenting so we all start making money toghether!?

you have my Vote Jerry - keep climbing

Rookie Question.... What's a witness?

I am also wondering what is a witness. As far as I know, I can vote for 30???

@doloresreyes witnesses are among the most powerful users in our community! Witnesses build the blockchain for Steem processing all transactions and creating all new Steem along with deciding on which updates to apply and more. Will you read the full guide I made at https://steemit.com/witness-category/@jerrybanfield/steem-witness-basic-training because it explains what a witness is in more detail and has exact steps to get started as one!

@allthingsmavis witnesses are among the most powerful users in our community! Witnesses build the blockchain for Steem processing all transactions and creating all new Steem along with deciding on which updates to apply and more. Will you read the full guide I made at https://steemit.com/witness-category/@jerrybanfield/steem-witness-basic-training because it explains what a witness is in more detail and has exact steps to get started as one!

ok. So, you become one? I'll check out your post. Thanks @jerrybanfield!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78