🤔What Exactly is a STEEM Witness?😮

in #witness6 years ago (edited)

So What is a STEEM Witness?

To understand exactly what a witness is, you first have to know what the blockchain itself is. Simply put, the blockchain is where everything really happens. It is a public record of anything done through an application built on top of it. The most widely known (and first) was Steemit. Any time you write a blog post or make a comment, it gets written on to this public record and anyone is able to see it. Other dapps (Decentralized Applications) like #DLive or #Steepshot go through the same process of being digitally etched into the history of the chain. Even upvotes, flags and transfers of funds get 'witnessed' on the #STEEM blockchain.

There's That Word Again - Witness

A concise definition of a witness would be that we are the ones writing the digital information to the chain. When enough information or data is produced to be recognized, it gets signed by us and written into a block. By acknowledging that data, we effectively 'witness' what just happened on our beloved STEEM #blockchain. We do this by maintaining servers to house the all the data we have agreed to 'witness'.

Kinds of Witnesses

Not all #witnesses are the same. In my little over a year of actively being a part of the blockchain, I have been a witness for a relatively short amount of time. I have come across many different kinds and as we are all individuals, that only makes sense. However, I have been able to classify them into 4 major categories:

- Developer

- Investor

- Community

- Social

#Developer

The people that chose to become witnesses that fall into this category should be pretty self-explanatory, but I will give you the run down anyway. These are the people that make the front-ends, back-ends, condensers, graphics, you name it. All the pretty little toys that we get to play with, they create. Be they a graphic designer or a coder for python, there is someone that makes all this tick so we can use it and have a good experience doing so. Behind every great STEEM-based app you're using, was or is, at least one brilliant developer.

#Investors

I have to ask you a question, how many of you have actually bought STEEM and powered up an account? I know I have. Some people here though, are business savvy and smart. They have heavily invested their money into services like a bid-bot or sell their voting power or even just collect the dividends from their stake. This kind of #witness has just as much reason to see the chain stay running as smoothly as the fresh-out-of-the-egg 'minnow'.

#Community

Community witnesses are a class of their own. In a sense, they can be considered investors because you'll often find them parting out their SP via delegations to bolster different organizations or communities. At the same time, they try to maintain a semi-social presence and keep up with their own personal postings. Heavy community witnesses are involved usually with one or two main 'projects' or 'initiatives' and typically try to build them as they go. Each dapp built from this chain are communities in themselves and as such, Steemit could be considered the largest of them all on the blockchain.

#Social

This is the category I would put myself in. True - I have invested a small chunk of change into the blockchain. True - I delegate my SP to various other causes and communities via multiple accounts. True - I also donate to worthy causes and initiatives on the blockchain. But what is most true, is I am out here in the trenches. I read tons of material on a daily basis, I make comments when I feel the need is valuable (or even just funny or sympathetic), I reply to comments made on my shitty posts but most of all, I am **available**. I'll talk to you in Discord or on a messenging service, even chat! I really like going to various radio and DLive shows, heck I even have a few of my own! I strive and thrive on the interaction. The more sincere and/or original the sentiment, the deeper the bond grows with another STeeMPeeP.

GET OUT THERE AND VOTE!

I'm not kidding, even if you don't vote for me, you have 30 votes and they should all be used to support your witnesses out here pulling funds from their pockets to keep this blockchain running as smooth as we can. If you feel you want your vote to count but have no idea who to vote for, you can always proxy (assign someone else vote for you) to another STeeMPeeP you trust. I know there are several people proxied to me because I do stay pretty well on top of what they are all doing and try to hand my votes out accordingly. The choice is yours, but please don't let yours be idle if you care about this platform (whichever one it may be you are reading this on) and the future of this - the STEEM blockchain.


CLICK HERE TO VOTE ENGINEWITTY AS WITNESS
The Pirate Lord of Darkness


Enginewitty_1.gif
@snook made this badass gif

Sort:  

Good thing I found this publication.

A publication full of information for many Steemians who still do not know that they are the witnesses of steemit, and who need this publication.

I will give this great publication to many who ask me for discord, that he is a witness.

Thank you very much for making a publication full of very good information for many steemians.

Greetings.

Many thanks, I hope it is easy enough to understand and follow for people that need to know!😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Personally, I don't know who or what s steem withness is until after reading this post

Posted using Partiko Android

Very happy you found it then, makes me happy knowing I can spread awareness of the witnesses😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Very happy you found it then, makes me happy knowing I can spread awareness of the witnesses😎

Posted using Partiko Android

This is extremely timely information and something everyone with a Steem account should take time to understand.

Totally agree and thank you Hugglesome!🤗🤗🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Yet, quite correct. If we all resteem it, definitely not about the money, it is about helpingnour own followers get their hands on it

Posted using Partiko Android

I was just explaining about everything I like in a witness in a different post, not knowing about the different categories. Now I know that my favorite ones are: social witnesses!

Maybe I should probably be more understanding, but I believe that some witnesses don't communicate with their voters or potential voters enough, they don't have to be a social witnesses to engage. I might just be being a brat though.

Thanks for the explanation @enginewitty! Resteemed :)

I agree with you. The investors and devs often times are somewhat introverted and forget that this is a social network filled with the resource that's keeping them all afloat - the people.

Posted using Partiko Android

@snowpea sold me on voting for you in that discussion ;)

Actually, she pointed me to this post and that did the rest.

If you'd like to suggest other witnesses to vote for, or to see who else we have suggested, the discussion is here

Yes! So glad you cast a vote for him @stevescoins! :D

Well @snowpea, you have my gratitude, thanks for lookin out🤗😎

Posted using Partiko Android

This is a great breakdown of what a Witness really is!!! Its simple enough that even I can read it and understand it!!! Thank You!!

Excellent, that's what I was hoping for. 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

OK, now you know

Posted using Partiko Android

Yay for witnesses!!! Awareness around this element of Steem is vital, and I'm constantly in awe of all the witnesses do to secure the blockchain and help it evolve. Great post! Resteemed.

It really is Princess, and people are still having a tough time grasping exactly what a witness is so I hope this post reaches the right ears and eyes and helps them get more involved with the chain.

Posted using Partiko Android

So... in essence we are all wittnesses? You have just blown my mind lol
Edit: just went to double check I had voted for you as a witness (i had btw) and I noticed it says you were disabled 28 hours ago?

Yes, I've been waiting for the fix that came through last night with the recent pre-hf20 glitch and am actually doing my replay now so it may be a few hours yet. Everyone had to do it 😑

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah ok! Makes sense now 😁

Thanks for noticing actually 🤗😎

Posted using Partiko Android

I vote! Not for all thirty, but for the ones I've come to trust. Glad for your support of freewritehouse! And don't all witnesses have some sort of tech savvy?

Posted using Partiko Android

It definitely does help, but not entirely mandatory. There are teams out there where a few are the devs and some are the speakers. Some even have their husbands or wives or partners help them if they have no coding skills.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think I just understood witness for the first time.. say whaaat! Thanks x

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha ha! Perfect! Glad you were able to understand it😎

Posted using Partiko Android

I really characterize myself as a Community man ( even though Im not a witness)

A good post with a more than adequate explanation of all this

It's all about community, to quote @shadowspub 😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the straight talk Captain and for your part in keeping things running smoothly. This whole block chain workings is hard to wrap one’s head around...mine anyway. 😊

Most def Red, glad you could follow along and grasp it better now🤗😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97