Witness Votes - Help!

in #witness6 years ago

So I understand that each person has 30 votes for Witnesses. These can be voted once and left for as long as you like and revoked as you wish.

So I've been trying to figure out how people decide who to spend their votes on? What criteria did you use to determine how to vote? Was it just random to the first places that asked you? How important are these votes and what value are they to those who get voted for? What am I really doing by giving someone my vote? What the heck is a "witness node", some actual physical server a witness needs to run?

Do I have the basic idea correct even? I have seen plenty of posts that talk about Witness related issues, but I am looking for the baby version so I can crawl before I walk. I would appreciate some discussion.

Thank you!

Dale @dnic

#witness #witness-category #steemit

Sort:  

I only vote for witness that I have really dug into. It’s something that is important to me. If you are looking for a good example list of where to start, check out abh12345 list on steemd.com.. he has pretty high standards of who he votes for.. probably higher than my own. Haha.

Witnesses are those that are essentially incharge of making sure the blockchain runs correctly.

Are you on discord yet? If not, I would suggest joining.. it’s sort of the chat rooms of steemit. I will see if I can find you a good article on what a witness is though.

Thanks. I appreciate the help. I'll look for abh12345 too.

I've never been a discord user and unfortunately, I very very rarely in an environment that would be conducive to chatting on discord. Am I going to be severely handicapped if I don't get on discord?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50