Witness Votes? Why? Who?

in #witness8 years ago (edited)

Firstly why is it important to vote for a witness?

This is one of those concepts that I didn't get - until I got it!

I am going to try to convey my understanding thereof for anyone and everyone who might share my limited knowledge of all this intricate jargon.

Lets start with the term DPOS: this stands for Delegated Proof of Stake and this is basically a consensus mechanism that Steemit uses.

In short Steemit is a decentralized block-chain, and they need a varied bunch of people running computers that create blocks for this block-chain.
And from what I understand these witnesses make more blocks than a lego factory prepping for the festive season!!

Thus they give you the opportunity to vote for witnesses that you believe in!
Every time you empower a witness by using your witness voting power you directly effect his ranking as a witness, so DO IT! VOTE! this will not cause a fairy to loose their wings, if anything it might magically allow a high strung main stream yuppy gain access to a much needed espresso at best... maybe no-one knows for sure!

You can always remove your vote at a later stage, should you feel the dire need to do so!
The to 19 witness accounts (these will be the ones with the most votes get first dibs to make blocks, the rest get to watch them until they get to make some too! And seeing that they get remunerated with Steem for their efforts ~ they all want more votes

IT REMAINS YOUR CHOICE WHO GETS YOUR VOTE

BUT VOTE 'CAUSE WE ACTUALLY NEED THEM IN ORDER TO ENJOY ALL THE PERKS THAT STEEMIT OFFERS US!

They do some other important stuff too!

With that said I have voted for a total of 18 witnesses -
You will see that the first three are marked in a way that places none above the other, these three witnesses however remain my personal top three due to having personal value in my own Steemit journey. (@pfunk for some tough love along the way, @gtg for every warm welcome he bids & @dragorousa for his "grab the lion by the balls" CAN DO attitude.
#1 @pfunk
#A @gtg
#1A @dragosroua

The following is in no specific order, but all with reason (even if it was just because I really really liked their name - yes you know who you are!)
@jesta
@blocktrades
@charlieshrem
@roelandp
@masteryoda
@joseph
@smooth.witness
@riverhead
@good-karma
@kushed
@pharesim
@klye
@someguy123
@steemed
@picokernel

But then I got stuck, I would like to ask you to help me spend my last few votes by letting me know who some of your favorite witnesses are that you have voted for and why. So if there are any witnesses that touched your Steemit Journey that put their names at the top of your witness list - I would like to hear about it!

One Love
&
HAPPY VOTING!!

(image credit)[www.pixabay.com]

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @breezin.

As far as witnesses go....you might want to add @abit to the list.....why?.....posts a regular witness report, quite knowlegable, keeps other witness on the ball, and supports the Steemit community with his upvotes......another one is @bitcoinparadise (keeps Steemians informed, is a back up witness, writes great articles which read....integrity)and @idnit(belongs to @majes...who is quite helpful to Steemians, informed, and is custodian for @christian-trail) and @chainsquad....(very knowledgeable and responsible..aka as @xeroc)... @l0k1 has recently been added to the witness list...he is dedicated, knowledgeable and writes at least a post a day...seems very suited to this sort of work.

There are others...this is a good place to start your research.

There are posts out there as to their qualifications.

Great post.

Thank you for the opportunity to ponder these things.
Kind Regards, bleujay.

Thank you for the mention @bleujay. There are many other's that have done more for the community than I have but I appreciate it.

Thank you for taking the time to read my posts.

Oh great! Thank you so much for your constructive response, this was exactly the reply that I was hoping for, and it seemed to get lost with the readers, however it did seem to raise a bit of awareness towards the need to vote for witnesses! I will definitely have a look at those witnesses, thank you again, and I am glad that you liked my post!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.41 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 06 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Are there a list of who to vote for?? i honestly haven"t voted anyone as I don't know who they are and what they do.

On the dropdown menu top right of your blog, where you would find steemit chat, you will find an option stating "vote for witness" select that and it will throw out the list...

i tried voting for that boy that barry was helping before then i got stuck with a key :(

So the witnesses are STEEM Miners? Or?
I really need to get into researching this, apparently. I didn't really know what a "witness" was, or why they're important.

Not steem miners lol Block miners ...

It was my understanding that miners mined blocks on particular coins' blockchains? So I assumed the Steemit miners would mine blocks on the STEEM blockchain.

But then, I'm pretty clueless about this stuff, so idk o ~ o)

I am still learning myself... well figure it out !

I appreciate the information... I guess I am still new enough around here that I wanted to make sure I even understand what I am doing when I cast a witness vote. Articles like this all help a little!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37